RSS Twitter Facebook


By canyon | 19 March 2011 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

 PEORIA, Ariz. (March 19th, 2011) – El Mirage, Arizona’s Jason Noll continues his early season surge towards the 2011 IMCA Modified championship as he thrilled fans with a last lap pass to win this Saturday night atop Peoria’s 3/8-mile Canyon Speedway oval. All of Noll’s hard work on his new T.R.E. ride a.k.a. the “Big Meaty Juicy” seems to be paying dividends thus far.

Noll thrilled the capacity crowd last Saturday night as he made his way to the front and held off track champion 4tw-Tim Ward who led all but the last lap of the feature. Noll started from the outside fifth row as he picked off over half of the eighteen-car field.

Ward won the first heat of the night followed by returning past champion “Showtime” 11x-Shawn Zelenka who knocked off heat two and HRC shoe 12-Guy Norton crossed the checkers first in heat three.

Sixteen cars finished the main event thriller in the following order: 1. Jason Noll 44, 2. Tim Ward 4TW, 3. Terry Belcher Jr 18, 4. George Fronsman 41, 5. Guy Norton 12, 6. DJ Wood 16W, 7. Jeremy Osbourne 75, 8. Steve Stultz 78, 9. Austin Black 71, 10. John Thwaits 17W, 11. Marlyn Seidler 7, 12. Robert Weimer 2AZ, 13. Ricky Bogart 7X, 14. Brody Center 2, 15. Jay Foster 09 & 16. Clifton Maggard 87

A stellar twenty-nine-car Pure Stock field filled the pits for stock car action. Team 40-Jeff Stafford held off the ”Frons” 41-George Fronsman for the win. Three-wide racing impressed the CSP fans as officials put 71-Scott Kleintop to the rear of the field for a tangle with 1-Ty Warner. Kleintop would have none of that though as he passed nineteen cars to place an impressive third. Fans also cheered on 49-Brandon Parker who won the semi-main to hard charge his way up to a fourth place finish. Number 22-Jesse Johnson rounded out the top five.

The full moon crazed 64-Vance Honea and 47-Daren Olney as they banged doors lap after lap. Olney after retiring to the pits for the night suddenly decided that he wasn’t quite done banging doors with Honea. Olney re-fired his stockcar, positioned himself to the side of Honea’s Dodge dually parked in the pits and BLAM-OOOO. Yep, he did it! He gunned the front of his car T-bone style directly into the driver side of the truck. Needless to say, Olney has been suspended from racing at CSP for the 2011 season.

Bomber Maniacs witnessed the “Chuckster” xx-Charles Thornton roll his way into his first victory this season. Thornton was followed by runner up 00-Doug Clark, 3. Jason Crowe 13, 4. David Jones 33Y & 5. John Wilt 72. Twenty-two bombers excited fans in the action packed main event.

Dylan Cappello wheeled his 11X machine to the front after tagging the field for skipping the post heat race tech inspection. Second place saw 69-Dave Van Ess return after a preseason tumble trashed his equipment. Teammate 61-Matt Jackson also returned and filled the podium positions. Fourth place went to 11g-Garrett Guilkey and 15-Joe Scheopner rounded out the top five.

A full twenty-car Southwest Modlite field raced side by side with kingpin 14-Tony Martin striking again. Martin won the season opener and followed up with a back-to-back win. Rounding out the top five were: 2. Mike Martin 24, 3. Nick Gann 55, 4. Nick Parker 115 & 5. Ricky Bobby 26.

ASCS CANYON REGION SPRINTCARS are on deck for their first race of the 2011 season at Canyon’s “OPEN WHEEL SHOWDOWN”. The speedy ASCS2 club returns, Desert Dwarf Cars and round two of Sportmod/Xmod dual will fill the ticket for an action packed Saturday night. The fun begins when general admission tickets go on sale at 5pm for only $15, racing will begin promptly at 7:30pm. All access pit passes are $30 each.

The 2011 Canyon Speedway Schedule can be previewed online at:

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon Speedway Park can be found at

Leave a Reply