RSS Twitter Facebook

ASCS Sprint Cars Set for Summer Sizzle at CSP!

By canyon | 08 June 2011 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 6, 2011) – The Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region returns to Peoria, Arizona’s Canyon Speedway Park for this Saturday night’s Inaugural Summer Sizzle event atop the semi-banked, 3/8-mile clay oval.  The 1st Annual Summer Sizzle will feature pre-race activities that include free shirts, courtesy of Ellis Racing, for the first 100 kids through the front gate.  A giant water slide and other fun activities will be set up for the younger fans while the elder racing enthusiasts can enjoy live music from the band CTS.

Entering the event nearly as hot as that summer Arizona sun is Jeremy Sherman, who has amassed a 110-point advantage in the championship points chase on the strength of eight top-fives in as many wingless ASCS Canyon Region events thus far in 2011.

Sherman, the ASCS Canyon Region champion in both 2007 and 2008, has bounced back from a pair of lackluster seasons in fashion similar to his championship campaigns with four wins in eight tries. His other four finishes include a pair of runner-up showings, a third and a fourth.

Among Sherman’s four series triumphs this year are three at CSP, including a sweep of the track’s Inaugural Canyon Clash on the final weekend of April. That sweep along with a March 26 win at CSP makes Sherman three-for-three in the ASCS Canyon events held at the Peoria track thus far in 2011.

While Sherman has topped four features overall, R.J. Johnson and Josh Pelkey are the only two other drivers to crack victory lane this season. Johnson and Pelkey have both scored two wins.

In the title chase, Sherman holds a 110-point edge over two-time and defending champion Charles Davis, Jr. While Davis, Jr., has been shut out of victory lane, he has finished either third or fourth in seven of eight feature events, with his only finish lower than fourth a sixth-place showing.

Johnson enters Saturday’s action third in points, with Pelkey in fourth. Ronnie Clark rounds out the current top five in points, with the rest of the top ten including Andrew Reinbold, Matt Rossi, Bruce St. James, Dalten Gabbard and Mike Martin.

California Sprint Car champion, Mike Spencer, will team up with car owner Mark Priestley for a shot at the top ASCS contenders that include past Arizona champions Davis, Sherman, Bob Ream Jr. and Pelkey.

Joining the wingless warriors for a full night of action will be the ASCS2 Micro Sprints, Southwest Modlites, and X-Mods.  General admission tickets will go on sale at 4pm for only $15, racing will begin promptly at 7:30pm.

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings please sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page:

There will be an opportunity for race fans to get a preview of the Summer Sizzle racers at an open practice slated for June 8th.  The festivities will kick off at 6:00pm with grandstand admission free for all those who want a sneak preview.

The 2011 Canyon Speedway Schedule can be previewed online at: 

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon Speedway Park can be found at

Leave a Reply