RSS Twitter Facebook

R.J. Johnson Takes Winged ASCS Southwest Honors at CSP!

By canyon | 24 July 2011 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (July 23, 2011) – Phoenix shoe R.J. Johnson has made a habit of visiting ASCS Regional victory lane over the past couple of years with 11 Canyon Region triumphs.  But, those have all been without a wing overhead.

Saturday night, the 24-year-old notched his first winged Sprint Car feature win when he was awarded the 25-lap Sunoco Fuel ASCS Southwest main event victory at Canyon Speedway Park.

Johnson took the top spot after fellow non-winger Josh Pelkey, who took the checkered flag in first position, was disqualified after failing to pass post-race technical inspection.  Johnson’s win also put a stop to Rick Ziehl’s four-race ASCS Southwest win streak.

Johnson took the win in front of Calvin Landis, with three-time series champion and current points leader Ziehl in third.  Kyle McCutcheon and Mike Rux, Jr., rounded out the top five, with the rest of the top ten including Lance Norick, Jordan Stetson, Chuck Buckman, Joshua Williams and Steve Stone.

McCutcheon and Ziehl topped heat race action.

Ty Warner cashed in on an unsurpassed Stock Car purse as he picked up his fourth victory in less than a month by topping a stacked field of Stock Car standouts in Saturday night’s 25-lap feature event at Canyon Speedway.

Warner, who elected to start at the tail of a very stout 27 car field, claimed his $500 payday along with a $100 front row challenge bonus by beating Matt Martinez and Michael Humphreys for his second front row challenge triumph.

Bo Partain swept the Ellis Racing Stock Car Pole Challenge by winning each of seven head to head matches giving Partain the pole position for the main event along with an extra $200.  Partain, who elected to tag and start from the 20th position, would not fair well as he was collected in an early race tangle ending his night.

Mike Shay, Michael Humphreys, Partain and Warner topped heat race action while Martinez was the cash winner for the hard charger award.

Jason Crowe captured his first Bomber Mania win by winning the 20-lap main event over Trenton Setelin and Paul O’Conner.

Kyle Shipley took top honors in ASCS2 Micro action as he was able to cross the checker flag just ahead of Josh Shipley picking up some extra cash in the Ellis Racing 20-lap main event.

Full Results:

The IMCA Modifieds come play on the clay this Saturday night July 30th for the Allscapes “Race Back to School” back pack give away.  Kids will have the opportunity to win a free pack back loaded with school supplies as Allscapes along with Arizona Heat Trucking and Dirt Pro outfit the Canyon Kids for the 2011 school year.  The Super Stocks, Pure Stocks, Desert Dwarf Cars and Bombers join the fun when general admission tickets go on sale at 5pm for only $15 for adults, Senior and Military $13 and CHILDREN 12 and UNDER are free. Racing will begin promptly at 7:30pm.

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings please sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page:

The full 2011 Canyon Speedway Schedule can be previewed online at:

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon Speedway Park can be found at

Leave a Reply