RSS Twitter Facebook

Norton 2011 IMCA Modified Champion

By canyon | 19 September 2011 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Kevin Montgomery, PEORIA, Ariz. (September 17th, 2011) – Jason Noll had one final chance to steal the 2011 IMCA Modified Championship from Guy Norton coming into the final weekend of the season and did everything in his power to make that happen but Guy Norton was determined to deny Noll and secure his first IMCA Modified Championship.

Noll, Jay Foster and Norton would all make quick work getting to the front as the three battled for position with Super Stock winner George Fronsman in the mix.  Noll set out to an early lead and paced the field securing his best shot at pilfering Norton’s Title while he, Foster and Fronsman battled for the runner up spot.

Foster made a rare but fatal mistake as he spun and collided with Jay Parvin and looked on as his battered machine and his chances at the title were towed to the pit area leaving only two remaining hopefuls.

Upon a restart, Noll continued his pace, leaving Norton and Fronsman to settle the final podium positions until Tim Ward made his way back from an earlier incident using the top side to work his way into fourth position.  With Norton riding in the secure seat, leading the title bout by one point, Ward entered the scene as the potential hope Noll desperately needed.

The race intensified as Ward tried several attempts at getting by Norton who was unable to overtake Fronsman.  Had Norton been shuffled back to the fourth position a tie would have been inevitable leaving Noll in position to be the 2011 champion due to the IMCA tie breaker rules.

Norton would not be denied as he held off Ward and secured his first IMCA Modified Championship and emerged in victory lane with showers of champagne and family as the championship wreath was placed around the neck of Canyon Speedway’s newest champion.

Ty Warner continued his charge towards catching Jeff Stafford in the Pure Stock championship as the two contenders raced flawlessly side by side lap after lap with Warner arriving in victory lane as a winner and on fire.  The small engine fire was quickly extinguished by Scott Gunn and an ice cold Budlight as both Stafford and Warner celebrated a great race in victory lane.

Fronsman, pulling double duty, made quick work of the Arizona Super Stock Touring field as he took the $100 front row challenge and elected to start scratch making his way back to the front and winning the 20-lap main event over Tucson’s Dwayne Hogan.

Mike Martin held off a hard charging Nick Parker and won the Southwest Modlite main event while Joe Vlasity got back to his winning ways in Bomber Mania.

Brian Swinehart took his second consecutive Challenge Cup Sprint Car win as he held off John Brinkley and “Larry Clark” in the 20-lap main event making Swinehart the only Challenge Cup winner going into October’s USAC ParkerStore Hall of Fame Classic.

Swinehart is set to return this Saturday night for the Beaver Stripes $2000 to win ASCS event featuring the Beaver Stripes Pole Challenge along with the $500 to win Pure Stock event and the Kennedy Hydraulics Pure Stock Pole Challenge.  The quick and nibble ASCS2 Micros will join the X-Mods for a spectacular night of racing.  The action kicks off Saturday night when general admission tickets go on sale at 5pm for only $15 for adults, Senior and Military $13 and CHILDREN 12 and UNDER are free. Racing will begin promptly at 7:30pm.

Full Results:

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings please sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page:

The full 2011 Canyon Speedway Schedule can be previewed online at:

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon Speedway Park can be found at

Leave a Reply