RSS Twitter Facebook

USAC Sprint Cars Invade Arizona This Weekend!

By canyon | 24 October 2011 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Kevin Montgomery PEORIA, Ariz. (October 24th, 2011) – The crisp Arizona weather in October, campers filling the Canyon Camp grounds and Non Wing Sprint Cars from around the country filling the pit area at Canyon Speedway, this will be the site as USAC Sprint Cars take on the 3/8-mile clay oval this Friday and Saturday night for the ParkerStore Hall of Fame Classic.

2010 USAC Driver of the Year, Bryan Clauson, sets his sites on his second USAC National Driver Championship as he leads an extremely potent Kyle Larson by only 13 points headed into the two day stint at CSP.

Levi Jones will bring a 44-point lead to Arizona with Chris Windom and Jon Stanbrough close on his heels.  Jones, seeking his fifth USAC National Sprint Car Title, will bring the Tony Stewart Racing GM Performance Parts Eagle/Chevy to the West Coast in an attempt to seal the Championship.

Mike Spencer, defending USAC/CRA Sprint Car Champion, is in the driver’s seat for his fourth consecutive championship aboard the legendary Ron Chaffin/Bruce Bromme number 50 as he leads Matt Mitchell by 30 points going into the final races of the year.

RJ Johnson will lead the Arizona contingent into battle against the national stars as he uses his Southwest Championships momentum heading into the big weekend.  Johnson will be among several drivers contending for the Hall of Fame victory as he joins a large cast of drivers set to defend their home track.

Tempe, Arizona’s, Ron Shuman, will be honored as Grand Marshal for the ParkerStore Hall of Fame Classic at Canyon Speedway.  Shuman will be among several Arizona racing legends schedule to sign autographs at the upcoming Hall of Fame Classic including Lealand McSpadden along with Richard Griffin, Terry Belcher Jr. and many more Arizona racing legends as Windy McDonald inducts five new members in to the Hall of Fame.   

The Hall of Fame Classic, presented by The ParkerStore, found a home at the Peoria, Arizona race track in 2010 and has quickly become one of the marquee events of the 30 year old facility.  The combination of the National USAC Sprint Cars and the tradition of the Parker Store Hall of Fame Classic will likely make for a formidable West Coast Sprint Car event.

The Arizona Motorsports Hall of Fame was founded in 1986 when the first 10 members were inducted.  Since its inception, more than 80 new members have been elected to the elite group that is occupied with a rich racing heritage, one that is abundant with tradition and prestige.  The members list is impressive and each of them has made a considerable impact on racing across the country.

Ticket pricing, seating charts and purchasing information can be found online at or by calling the Canyon Speedway office at 602-258-7223

Hotel Information can be found at or by calling the Hampton Inn & Suites at 623-516-9300

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings please sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page:

The 2011 Canyon Speedway Schedule can be previewed online at: 

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon Speedway Park can be found at

Leave a Reply