RSS Twitter Facebook

Ziehl Takes ASCS Southwest Honors at CSP!

By canyon | 22 October 2011 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (October 21, 2011) – Rick Ziehl landed another Sunoco Fuel ASCS Southwest feature win on Friday night as Canyon Speedway Park kicked off its Second Annual Canyon Southwest Championships.

Closing in on a fourth consecutive ASCS Southwest championship, Ziehl captured his sixth series win of the year from the front row aboard the Wesmar-powered Lucas Oil No. 20z Maxim.

Ziehl took the checkered flag ahead of ninth-starter Kyle McCutcheon, with Jesse Baker, Calvin Landis and Colt Treharn rounding out the top five.  R.J. Johnson was sixth, with Dalten Gabbard, Logan  Forler, Derrik Ortega and Bill Mitchell completing the top ten.

Joshua Williams and Ziehl topped heat race action.

Danny Price marked his name in the record books as the first winner of the Figure 8 Championships at Canyon Speedway while BJ Arntz topped a stellar field of ASCS2 Micros.

Full Results:

Day two of the Southwest Championship and Figure 8 Championships is set for the a grand finale as the stars of the ASCS Sprint Cars join ranks with the Figure 8 specialists and the fast action of the ASCS2.  Saturday’s action will kick off when general admission tickets go on sale Friday at 5pm for only $15 for adults, Senior and Military $13 and CHILDREN 12 and UNDER are free. Racing will begin promptly at 7:30pm.

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings please sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page:

The full 2011 Canyon Speedway Schedule can be previewed online at:

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon Speedway Park can be found at

Leave a Reply