RSS Twitter Facebook

Stanbrough Rebounds for Winter Challenge Round Two Honors!

By canyon | 29 January 2012 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (January 28, 2012) – After struggling uncharacteristically in Canyon Speedway Park’s Winter Challenge opener on Friday, Avon, Indiana’s Jon Stanbrough bounced back in strong fashion by topping Saturday’s second round of action atop the 3/8-mile clay oval.

While fellow Hoosier State shoe Tracy Hines led most of the way in the event pitting the ASCS Canyon Region versus the USAC West Coast Series, Stanbrough made a late move in Saturday afternoon’s 30-lapper to take the $2,000 winner’s cut in the Shon Deskins Racing No. 21x entry.

Stanbrough, who missed the feature cut in the first of six rounds of Winter Challenge action on Friday, chased front row outside starter Hines from the third starting position on Saturday for much of the way before charging into the lead in the final handful of laps to snare the win.

Stanbrough and Hines were chased to the stripe by Bud Kaeding, who claimed a podium finishing position for the second time in as many Winter Challenge races.  Dave Darland advance from 10th to fourth, with Colby Copeland rounding out the top five.

Johnny Herrera raced from 18th to sixth, with Josh Pelkey, Casey Shuman, pole starter R.J. Johnson and Bruce St. James completing the top ten.

After winning Friday night’s Winter Challenge opener, Charles Davis, Jr., finished just outside the top ten on Saturday in eleventh.

Rick Ziehl, Hines and Davis, Jr., topped Saturday’s heat race action, with Jeremy Sherman winning the “B” Main.

Dylan Smith raced his way into victory lane picking up round two in IMCA Modified action while both Dustin Cormany and Anthony Madrid were repeat winners in ASCS2 and Pure Stock action.

Full Results:

Canyon Speedway Park’s Winter Challenge resumes with Round Three’s green flag flying at 1:00 p.m. on Sunday, with a $3,000 winner’s share up for grabs.  Action then continues with the final three rounds on Wednesday at 7:00 p.m., Friday at 7:00 p.m. and then Saturday’s (February 4) $5,000-to-win finale at 1:00 p.m.

Winter Challenge Points (Top Ten):  1. Bud Kaeding (Campbell, CA) 277, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. (Buckeye, AZ) 258, 3. Dave Darland (Lincoln, IN) 255, 4. Tracy Hines (New Castle, IN) 250, 5. R.J. Johnson (Phoenix, AZ) 248, 6. Casey Shuman (Tempe, AZ) 235, 7. Johnny Herrera (Albuquerque, NM) 232, 8. Jeremy Sherman (Surprise, AZ) 230, 9. Thomas Ogle (Surprise, AZ) 228, 10. Colby Copeland (Roseville, CA) 217.

Remaining Winter Challenge Schedule at Canyon Speedway Park:

Round Three – Sunday, January 29 @ 1:00 p.m. ($3,000 to win)

Round Four – Wednesday, February 1 @ 7:00 p.m. ($2,000 to win)

Round Five – Friday, February 3 @ 7:00 p.m. ($2,000 to win)

Round Six – Saturday, February 4 @ 1:00 p.m. ($5,000 to win)

Peoria’s Canyon Speedway Park is located 25 miles north of Phoenix on I-17 to Exit 223, then 6.3 miles west.  For more information, contact the track at 602-258-7223 or check

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings please sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page:

The full 2011 Canyon Speedway Schedule can be previewed online at:

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon Speedway Park can be found at

Leave a Reply