RSS Twitter Facebook

The Winter Challenge Driver List Continues to Grow

By canyon | 09 January 2012 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Kevin Montgomery PEORIA, Ariz. (January 9th, 2011) – The roar of the engines, the smell of fuel and the astounding site of dirt track racing comes to life in less than 19 days as the 2012 Arizona Speedweek, in the form of Winter Challenge 2012, is just around the corner.  An extremely stout “Unofficial” roster has been compiled by Canyon Speedway management and continues to grow, but without further anticipation CSP presents the Winter Challenge 2012 Unofficial driver list.

ASCS Vs. USAC West Coast Sprint Cars IMCA Modifieds
Andy Reinbold Billy Caron
Bob Ream Brian Schultz
Brian Hossford Cary Sample
Brian Swinehart Chris Abelson
Bruce St. James Cliff Maggard
Bud Kaeding Cody Center
Carson Ditsch Cory Butler
Casey Shuman Dan Fitzgerald
Charles Davis Jr. Daniel Hilsabeck
Chris Bonneau Darin Duffy
Colby Copeland Dave Baker
Cory Kruseman DJ Wood
Danny Sheridan Dominic Ursetta
Dave Darland Dylan Smith
Jace Vanderweerd Garrett Funk
Jeremy Sherman George Fronsman
Jimmy Crawford Guy Norton
Jody Wirth Jason Noll
Johnny Herrera Jason Schoenberger
Jon Stanbrough Jay Foster
Josh Pelkey Jay Parvin
Joshua Hodges Jeremy Mills
JT Imperial John Morris Jr.
Justin Quinn Johnny Saathoff
Kyle Danielson Justin Thornton
Micheal Curtis Kyle Lentz
Mike Colgrove Lance Mari
Mike Martin Marlyn Seidler
Rex Calderwood Norman Upton
Richard Vanderweerd Phil Penny
Rick Ziehl Ricky Alvarado
RJ Johnson Ricky Thornton Jr.
Ronnie Clark Ryan Roath
Ryan Linder Stacey Mills
Shon Deskins Steve Stultz
Stevie Sussex Taylon Center
Tom Lee Tim Ward
Tom Ogle Wayne Deveault
Tracy Hines  


With the list mounting for traditional Sprint Car contingent, the roster is equally growing for IMCA Modified stars making for a very stout field for both classes.

Arizona race fans can mark their calendar for one of the hottest events of the year as The best of the best in Wingless Sprint Cars and IMCA Modifieds tackle Canyon Speedway’s 3/8-mile clay oval for six races over the course of nine days on January 27th, 28th, 29th February 1st, 3rd and 4th.

The 2012 Winter Challenge will feature top traditional Sprint Car drivers from around the country as the American Sprint Car Series faces off with the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series while IMCA Modified aces converge in the valley of the sun for what is anticipated to be one of the largest racing events of 2012.  More than $100,000 in “A” Feature money alone will be distributed over the course of the blockbuster event that kicks off with the $2,000 to win Winter Challenge opener and will conclude with the $5,000 to win finale on February 4th.

Nearly 100 drivers from across America will be expected to take part in what will be one of the must see events of 2012 and will feature the Nations top teams all gunning for one of the richest payouts in the west.

The super fast ASCS2 Micros will join the CSP Pure Stock Series for five of the six days of action as two competitive divisions join an already stellar field of cars for some spectacular rave events.

Six day discounted tickets may be purchased in advance and ticket pricing/purchasing information can be found online at: or by calling the Canyon Speedway office at 602-258-7223

Complete Payout and race information can be found at:

Hotel Information can be found at: or by calling the Hampton Inn & Suites at 623-516-9300

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings please sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page:

The 2012 Canyon Speedway Winter Challenge Schedule can be previewed online at:

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon Speedway Park can be found at

Leave a Reply