RSS Twitter Facebook

Davis and Wood in Winter Challenge Victory Lane!

By canyon | 02 February 2012 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (February 1, 2012) – Charles Davis, Jr., evened the score in the win column for the ASCS Canyon Region forces versus their foes from the USAC West Coast Series as the Winter Challenge resumed with round four of six at Canyon Speedway Park on Wednesday night.

The two-time ASCS Canyon Region champion picked off his second win in four nights of Winter Challenge competition aboard the Massey Motorsports No. 50 entry after USAC shoes Jon Stanbrough and Tracy Hines topped rounds three and four, respectively.

Davis, Jr., led from his pole position throughout in the $2,000-to-win affair before surviving a last-lap caution that set up a green-white-checkered dash to the stripe, fending off Hines to secure the win.  R.J. Johnson claimed the final step on the podium in the show position after starting eighth.

Bob Ream, Jr., was fourth, with Stevie Sussex rounding out the top five.  Jon Stanbrough was sixth, with Shane Cottle, Casey Shuman, Mike Martin and Shon Deskins completing the top ten.

Stanbrough, Johnson and Davis, Jr., won Wednesday night’s heat races, with Rick Ziehl victorious in the “B” Main.

Phoenix, Arizona’s DJ Wood took advantage of lap traffic to make a last lap pass on Scott Drake to become the fourth different winner in as many races at the CSP Winter Challenge.  Wood and Drake were followed to the checkered by a strong Arizona contingent that included Jay Foster, Jason Noll and Ryan Roath. 

Full Results:

With Hines just four points ahead of Davis, Jr. and Dylan Smith just four points ahead of Chris Abelson in Winter Challenge points, action resumes with Round Five on Friday at 7:00 p.m. and then the $5,000-to-win Sixth and Final Round on Saturday at 1:00 p.m.

Winter Challenge Points (Top Ten – Through Round Four of Six):  1. Tracy Hines (New Castle, IN) 542, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. (Buckeye, AZ) 538, 3. R.J. Johnson (Phoenix, AZ) 518, 4. Bud Kaeding (Campbell, CA) 502, 5. Jeremy Sherman (Surprise, AZ) 463, 6. Casey Shuman (Tempe, AZ) 459, 7. Jon Stanbrough (Avon, IN) 447, 8. Mike Martin (Yuma, AZ) 437, 9. Rick Ziehl (Las Cruces, NM) 434, 10. Colby Copeland (Roseville, CA) 425.

Remaining Winter Challenge Schedule at Canyon Speedway Park:

Round Five – Friday, February 3 @ 7:00 p.m. ($2,000 to win)

Round Six – Saturday, February 4 @ 1:00 p.m. ($5,000 to win)

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings please sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page:

The full 2012 Canyon Speedway Schedule can be previewed online at:

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon Speedway Park can be found at

Leave a Reply