RSS Twitter Facebook

Johnson and Noll Conquer the Copper Classic

By canyon | 05 March 2012 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Bryan Hulbert – Peoria, AZ (March 3, 2012) – The Copper Classic finale at the Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, Arizona saw a night of ups and downs as two time Lucas Oil ASCS National Champion Jason Johnson took the win behind the wheel of the Roush Yates/AccuDoc Solutions 41.

“We have a great group of guys and I can’t thank Stenhouse Racing and Roush for this opportunity to showcase the Ford horsepower” explained Johnson during his post-race interview. “It’s something unique and that’s what we like to be”.

After starting ninth on the field, the 41 would advance up a full row as the start was called back for the 53 of Jack Dover who spun while leading the field to the start. Restarting alongside Dustin Morgan in seventh, Johnson wasted no time getting to the top of the track to break into the top five.

As Jason Johnson began working on Wayne Johnson and Tony Bruce Jr. for fourth the battle for the race lead was between the Vacuworx International 05 of Brady Loyet and the Office Depot 14 of Tony Stewart. After getting the jump on the opening lap, Loyet would begin to pull away before a caution on lap three slowed the field.

Back underway with Loyet continuing to lead, preliminary night winner Tony Bruce Jr. would have his hands full as Brady Bacon challenged for third while Jason Johnson began working on both drivers for the position. Up on the high line, Johnson would clear both cars but would not be able to hold the spot as The Oil Medics 18 of Bruce raced back into third with Brady Bacon in tow.

Working on lap five, Johnson would finally take over the show position as the battle on the race track was for fifth between the 18 of Tony Bruce Jr. and the 77x of Wayne Johnson with the 9 of Gary Wright in the mix as well. As the three car battle for fifth continued, the fight for the runner up spot went three wide as Johnson and Bacon split the 14 of Stewart with Johnson taking over the runner up spot.

With the green flag still displayed, the field would race into slower traffic with Loyet continuing to lead. Pulling up on the halfway point Loyet paced around the high line; allowing Johnson to pull even several times before the caution flew for the spun 33v of Henry VanDam.

On the restart Johnson would pull to the bottom line to capture the race lead but the caution would again put the field to an idle as four cars tangled. With the caution the 05 of Loyet would reclaim the race lead as the field reverted to the last fully completed lap.

Back underway Loyet would have to play defense as Johnson applied pressure for the race lead. Working every inch of the racing surface, Loyet and Johnson would continue their battle as Brady Bacon looked to make his presence known. Continuing his challenge, Johnson would ultimately inherit the top spot as Loyet spun on the bottom of the track and continued on but the caution had already come out; dropping the 05 to tenth.

Restarting with twelve laps to go, Johnson would pull the 99 of Bacon as the 41 worked the high line with Bacon working the inside groove as the pair raced again into slower traffic. Working in and out of the lapped cars Johnson would be challenged several times for the lead but would not be denied as the 41 raced to the checkered flag. Brady Bacon would end up in the runner up spot for the second straight night as Tony Stewart held onto third. Tony Bruce Jr. would end his weekend with a fourth place finish as Wayne Johnson fought back to fifth after falling as far back as eighth.

Gary Wright charged from thirteenth to sixth with Dustin Morgan taking seventh. Johnny Herrera would come home eighth after starting fifteenth with Jack Dover fight back from twenty-second to salvage a ninth place finish. Robert Crockett rounded out the top ten.

“Racin” Jason Noll drove from his ninth starting position to win the 25-lap IMCA Modified feature delegating early race leader, Kenny Wallace, to the show position with Anthony Madrid filling the final podium spot in the Copper Classic finale.

Full Results:

Canyon Speedway will officially kick off the 2012 season as the stars of the American Sprint Car Series take the tops off for the first ASCS Wingless race of the year.  5-time and defending ASCS champion, Jeremy Sherman, will be at the wheel to defend his 2011 championship.  The Pure Stocks, ASCS2, Southwest Modlites and X-Mods will join the card making for an action packed night of racing that starts when general admission tickets go on sale at 5pm for only $15 for adults, Senior and Military $13, Juniors 7-12 $6 and CHILDREN 6 and UNDER are free. Racing will begin promptly at 7:00pm.

Season and Suite Access Passes will allow race fans to get all the action at an unheard of low cost.  Season Passes are on sale for only $249 and $199 for Seniors, Students and Military thus dropping admission prices to under $10 per event.  Suite Access Passes will allow race fans the opportunity to enjoy the races from Canyon Speedways VIP Suites for only $349

Discounted season passes are available by calling the Canyon Speedway office at 602-258-7223.  2012 Season Ticket Packages can be viewed on line at

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings please sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page:

The full 2012 Canyon Speedway Schedule can be previewed online at:

Canyon Speedway Park is located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon Speedway Park can be found at

Leave a Reply