RSS Twitter Facebook

Davis Tops “Brawl For It All”!

By canyon | 23 September 2012 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (September 22, 2012) – Charles Davis, Jr., topped the final leg of the three-race “Grudge Match” pitting the USAC West Coast Sprint Cars versus the ASCS Canyon Region in Saturday night’s “Brawl for it All” main event at Canyon Speedway Park.

The multi-time Canyon Region non-wing Sprint Car champion claimed the $2,500 winner’s share in the “Grudge Match” finale atop the 1/3-mile CSP clay oval after USAC shoes Bud Kaeding and Cory Kruseman topped the initial two legs of Grudge action at Las Vegas and Santa Maria.

While Davis, Jr., claimed top honors in the headline Sprint Car main event, Ryan Walter topped the ASCS2 Micro Sprint Car ranks and A.J. Martin bested the Southwest Mod Lites.

Davis, Jr., claimed the “Brawl For It All” main event from the front row, beating 13th-starter Ryan Bernal to the checkered flag after exchanging the lead several times over the final ten rounds of the 30-lapper with R.J. Johnson, Rick Ziehl and Danny Sheridan rounding out the top five.

With his runner-up finish, Bernal earned the $5,000 “Grudge Match” championship money with Sheridan second and R.J. Johnson third in Grudge points that offered up a $15,000 points fund in total to the top ten that competed in each event compliments of Southwest Contractors, Hoosier Tire and Parker Store of Phoenix.

Josh Shipley, Jeremy Sherman, Brian Hosford and Bruce St. James topped heat races for the 31-car field, with Michael Curtis, Rick Ziehl, Shon Deskins and Danny Sheridan winning the qualifying races.  Bernal and Mike Spencer topped “B” Main action.

Ryan Walter claimed his first ASCS2 Micro Sprint Car win of the year at CSP in front of Josh Shipley and 12th-starter Joe Scheopne, while A.J. Martin snared his second Southwest Mod Lite win of the year in front of Brian Miller and Scott Domine.

Action continues at Canyon Speedway Park next weekend, September 28-29, with the IMCA Modified Championship Finale.  In addition to IMCA Modifieds, both nights will also feature CSP Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Pure Stocks, Dwarf Cars and Bombers.


Canyon Speedway Park “Brawl for it All” Results:

USAC West Coast Sprint Cars vs. ASCS Canyon Region:

First Heat: 1. 2-Josh Shipley, 2. 68-Bryan Swinehart, 3. 93-Justin Quinn, 4. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 5. 73-Ryan Bernal, 6. 6jt-Michael Curtis, 7. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 8. 74br-Jacob Hawkins.

Second Heat:  1. 18-Jeremy Sherman, 2. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 3. 80-Bugs Norbury, 4. 5x-Jody Wirth, 5. 41w-Rick Ziehl, 6. 12-Josh Pelkey, 7. 7m-Mike Spencer, 8. 17k-Kyle Danielson.

Third Heat:  1. 32b-Brian Hosford, 2. 74-Colby Copeland, 3. 22-Mike Rux, Jr., 4. 16-Mike Martin, 5. 29-Mike Bonneau, 6. 44-Rickie Gaunt, 7. 91-Brody Roa, 8. 3d-Michael Dayney.

Fourth Heat:  1. 7k-Bruce St. James, 2. 78-Chris Bonneau, 3. 51-R.J. Johnson, 4. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 5. 73x-Danny Sheridan, 6. 20-Shon Deskins, 7. 53-Tom Lee.

First Qualifier:  1. 6jt-Michael Curtis, 2. 32b-Brian Hosford, 3. 5x-Jody Wirth, 4. 7m-Mike Spencer, 5. 74-Colby Copeland, 6. 68-Bryan Swinehart, 7. 22-Mike Rux, Jr., 8. 8-Bob Ream, Jr.

Second Qualifier: 1. 41w-Rick Ziehl, 2. 16-Mike Martin, 3. 44-Rickie Gaunt, 4. 7k-Bruce St. James, 5. 78-Chris Bonneau, 6. 91-Brody Roa, 7. 2-Josh Shipley, 8. 74br-Jacob Hawkins.

Third Qualifier:  1. 20-Shon Deskins, 2. 73-Ryan Bernal, 3. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 4. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 5. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 6. 93-Justin Quinn, 7. 3d-Michael Dayney, 8. 53-Tom Lee.

Fourth Qualifier:  1. 73x-Danny Sheridan, 2. 12-Josh Pelkey, 3. 51-R.J. Johnson, 4. 18-Jeremy Sherman, 5. 80-Bugs Norbury, 6. 17k-Kyle Danielson, 7. 29-Mike Bonneau.

First  “B” Feature:  1. 73-Ryan Bernal, 2. 29-Mike Bonneau, 3. 91-Brody Roa, 4. 44-Rickie Gaunt, 5. 74-Colby Copeland, 6. 5x-Jody Wirth, 7. 74br-Jacob Hawkins, 8. 80-Bugs Norbury, 9. 93-Justin Quinn, 10. 8-Bob Ream, Jr.

Second “B” Feature:  1. 7m-Mike Spencer, 2. 78-Chris Bonneau, 3. 2-Josh Shipley, 4. 12-Josh Pelkey, 5. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 6. 22-Mike Rux, Jr., 7. 3d-Michael Dayney, 8. 17k-Kyle Danielson, 9. 53-Tom Lee.

“A” Feature:  1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 73-Ryan Bernal, 3. 51-R.J. Johnson, 4. 41w-Rick Ziehl, 5. 73x-Danny Sheridan, 6. 20-Shon Deskins, 7. 74-Colby Copeland, 8. 12-Josh Pelkey, 9. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 10. 91-Brody Roa, 11. 18-Jeremy Sherman, 12. 7k-Bruce St. James, 13. 16-Mike Martin, 14. 2-Josh Shipley, 15. 32b-Brian Hosford, 16. 44-Rickie Gaunt, 17. 78-Chris Bonneau, 18. 29-Mike Bonneau, 19. 68-Bryan Swinehart, 20. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 21. 6jt-Michael Curtis, 22. 7m-Mike Spencer.


Southwest Mod Lites:

First Heat:  1. 58-Scott Strei, 2. 22-Scott Domine, 3. 14-Tony Martin, 4. 916-Brian Miller, 5. 14kj-Kevin Rauscher.

Second Heat:  1. 41-A.J. Martin, 2. 19d-Davey Bateman, 3. 40-Vince Perez, 4. 5j-P.J. Jinzo, 5. 9-Mark Hammill.

“A” Feature:  1. 41-A.J. Martin, 2. 916-Brian Miller, 3. 22-Scott Domine, 4. 14-Tony Martin, 5. 5j-P.J. Jinzo, 6. 19d-Davey Bateman, 7. 58-Scott Strei, 8. 9-Mark Hammill, 9. 14kj-Kevin Rauscher, 10. 40-Vince Perez.


ASCS2 Micro Sprint Cars:

First Heat:  1. 5k-Josh Shipley, 2. 50-Cliff Cormany, 3. 24a-Pat Wing, 4. 63-Don Keesler, 5. 77-Dustin Cormany, 6. F17-Joe Scheopne, 7. 42-Katherine Aragon, 8. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 9. 81-Tyler Dean.

Second Heat:  1. 16-Mike Visser, 2. 53-Joe Pitts, 3. 6-Dave Van Ess, 4. 29-Paul Martin, 5. 41-Colton Hardy, 6. 71-Greg Lane, 7. 7s-Brandon Selph, 8. 7-Kevin Keefer.

Third Heat:  1. 4-Ryan Walter, 2. 88-Adam Milsap, 3. 3-Jim Mattison, 4. 91-Kiley Fellars, 5. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 6. 18-Tyler Keesler, 7. 21-Johnathon Patrick, 8. 23-Logan Haulot.

“B” Feature:  1. 71-Greg Lane, 2. 18-tyler Keesler, 3. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 4. 42-Katherine Aragon, 5. 7s-Brandon Selph, 6. 81-Tyler Dean, 7. 7-Kevin Keefer, 8. 23-Logan Haulot, 9. 21-Johnathon Patrick.

“A” Feature:  1. 4-Ryan Walter, 2. 5k-Josh Shipley, 3. F17-Joe Scheopne, 4. 24a-Pat Wing, 5. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 6. 50-Cliff Cormany, 7. 29-Paul Martin, 8. 77-Dustin Cormany, 9. 18-Tyler Keesler, 10. 6-Dave Van Ess, 11. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 12. 91-Kiley Fellars, 13. 42-Katherine Aragon, 14. 53-Joe Pitts, 15. 63-Don Keesler, 16. 71-Greg Lane, 17. 41-Colton Hardy, 18. 16-Mike Vissser, 19. 3-Jim Mattison, 20. 88-Adam Milsap.

(Terry Shaw photo)

Leave a Reply