RSS Twitter Facebook

Lundy & Stafford Among Friday Winners at CSP!

By canyon | 29 September 2012 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (September 28, 2012) – Matt Lundy rallied for another CSP Challenge Cup Sprint feature win while Jeff Stafford nabbed his first IMCA Modified feature win of the year on the opening night of the IMCA Modified season championship finale at Canyon Speedway Park.

While Lundy came from the 11th starting position for another Challenge Cup Sprint Car win and Stafford came from seventh for Modified honors, other Friday night winners included Chris McCurdy, Jr., in Pure Stocks, Nick Langer in the Bombers and Steve Dunn in Dwarf Cars.

Lundy snared his fourth Challenge Cup Sprint Car feature win from the sixth row in front of Jacob Hawkins, who started just one row further toward the front in tenth.  Lonnie Oliver claimed the show position, with Dean Colquette and Josh Shipley rounding out the top five.

Stafford took Friday’s IMCA Modified feature in front of Cody Center, who raced from ninth, with Ricky Thornton, Jr., Steve Stultz and Tyler Mecl.  With his runner-up finish, Center carries a 15-point lead over Jason Noll into Saturday night’s IMCA Modified season championship point finale.  Noll finished 11th in Friday’s feature.

Pure Stock points leader Chris McCurdy, Jr., broke into victory lane for the first time from a fourth-row outside starting position, taking the checkered flag ahead of Vance Honea, pole starter Marlowe Wrightsman, Ashley Stafford and Michael Wrightsman.

Nick Langer raced from the eighth starting position as well for his second Bomber score of the year in front of front row starters John Wilt and Justin Bishop with Joe Peterson and Frank Outlaw rounding out the top five.

Steve Dunn charged from six rows deep for his first Dwarf Car triumph of the year in ahead of Rick Godsey, Ryan Hennesey, Brian Stehr and Steve Kapaun.

The IMCA Modified Season Championship Finale concludes on Saturday night with another full night of racing action that once again includes IMCA Modifieds, CSP Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Pure Stocks, Bombers and Dwarf Cars.  Racing action goes green at 7:00 p.m.


Canyon Speedway Park:

IMCA Modifieds:

First Heat:  1. 8-Nate Warren, 2. 3-Jim Collinsworth, 3. 78-Steve Stultz, 4. $-Cody Center, 5. 31-Jay Parvin, 6. 33jr-Paul French, Jr., 7. 41-George Fronsman, 8. L8-Bryan Schultz, 9. 27-Dave Brinkley, 10. 87-Clifton Maggard.

Second Heat:  1. 09-Jay Foster, 2. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 3. 40-Jeff Stafford, 4. 12-Guy Norton, 5. 44-Jason Noll, 6. 71-Tyler Mecl, 7. 82-J.C. Parmeley, 8. 6-Zach Washburn, 9. 39-Derek Huggins.

“A” Feature:  1. 40-Jeff Stafford, 2. $-Cody Center, 3. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 4. 78-Steve Stultz, 5. 71-Tyler Mecl, 6. 12-Guy Norton, 7. 31-Jay Parvin, 8. L8-Bryan  Schultz, 9. 39-Derek Huggins, 10. 6-Zach Washburn, 11. 44-Jason Noll, 12. 41-George Fronsman, 13. 87-Clifton Maggard, 14. 33jr-Paul French, Jr., 15. 8-Nate Warren, 16. 09-Jay Foster, 17. 3-Jim Collinsworth, 18. 82-J.C. Parmeley, 19. 27-Dave Brinkley.


CSP Challenge Cup Sprint Cars:

First Heat:  1. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 2. 16-Mike Visser, 3. 0-Stevie Sussex, 4. 53-Tom Lee, 5. 71-Scott Oliver, 6. 98-Matt Lundy.

Second Heat:  1. 2-Josh Shipley, 2. 7j-Kiley Fellars, 3. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 4. 26-John Brinkley, 5. 74-Jacob Hawkins, 6. 29-Dean Colquette.

“A” Feature:  1. 98-Matt Lundy, 2. 74-Jacob Hawkins, 3. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 4. 29-Dean Colquette, 5. 2-Josh Shipley, 6. 0-Stevie Sussex, 7. 26-John Brinkley, 8. 71-Scott Oliver, 9. 7j-Kiley Fellars, 10. 53-Tom Lee, 11. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 12. 16-Mike Visser.


Pure Stocks:

First Heat:  1. 25-Steve Duffy, 2. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 3. 64-Vance Honea, 4. 40jr-Bubba Stafford, 5. 3-Ashley Stafford, 6. 7-Steve Bitting.

Second Heat:  1. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 2. 83-Mike Goodwin, 3. 31-Harry Roud, 4. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 5. 68v-Joe Vlasity.

“A” Feature:  1. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 2. 64-Vance Honea, 3. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 4. 3-Ashley Stafford, 5. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 6. 83-Mike Goodwin, 7. 25-Steve Duffy, 8. 40jr-Bubba Stafford, 9. 7-Steve Bitting, 10. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 11. 31-Harry Roud.



First Heat:  1. 85-Joe Peterson, 2. 04b-Justin Bishop, 3. 72-John Wilt, 4. 66-Joe Setelin, 5. 15-Kyle Williams, 6. 0-Frank Outlaw, 7. 76x-Justin Herrera, 8. 17L-Nick Langer, 9. 99-Trenton Setelin.

“A” Feature:  1. 17L-Nick Langer, 2. 72-John Wilt, 3. 04b-Justin Bishop, 4. 85-Joe Peterson, 5. 0-Frank Outlaw, 6. 15-Kyle Williams, 7. 76x-Justin Herrera, 8. 99-Trenton Setelin, 9. 66-Joe Setelin.


Dwarf Cars:

First Heat:  1. 14-Ryan Hennesey, 2. 45-Jeffrey Schoeb, 3. 76-Cyna Stehr, 4. 95-Rat Stafford, 5. 19-Tim Berner, 6. 99-Rob Dienes, 7. 88-Denny Sheffield, 8. 57-Kyle Huttenhow.

Second Heat:  1. 17-Brian Stehr, 2. 16-Jim Hock, 3. 22-Daniel Lamm, 4. 32-Rick Godsey, 5. 31-Greg Loper, 6. 51-Bill Drake, 7. 29-Cory Brown, 8. 09-Elaine Deines.

Third Heat:  1. 33r-Greg Jewett, 2. 54-Fred Defibaugh, 3. 27-Randy Dutra, 4. 65-Steve Dunn, 5. 47-Steve Kapaun, 6. 93-A.J. Breau, 7. 77-Eric Muse, 8. 14x-Bill Strobel.

“A” Feature:  1. 65-Steve Dunn, 2. 32-Rick Godsey, 3. 14-Ryan Hennesey, 4. 17-Brian Stehr, 5. 47-Steve Kapaun, 6. 31-Greg Loper, 7. 54-Fred Defibaugh, 8. 45-Jeffrey Schoeb, 9. 22-Daniel Lamm, 10. 27-Randy Dutra, 11. 77-Eric Muse, 12. 51-Bill Drake, 13. 33r-Greg Jewett, 14. 93-A.J. Breau, 15. 76-Cyna Stehr, 16. 99-Rob Dienes, 17. 88-Denny Sheffield, 18. 29-Cory Brown, 19. 09-Elaine Deines, 20. 16-Jim Hock, 21. 95-Rat Stafford.

Leave a Reply