RSS Twitter Facebook

Driver Entry Forms Available for the Western World Championships

By canyon | 19 October 2012 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Kevin Montgomery, PEORIA, Ariz. (October 19, 2012) – Driver Entry forms are available for The 45th Annual FVP Western World Championships presented by Sands Chevrolet featuring The Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series presented by Mav TV as well as the wingless warriors of the Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region.

Tracy Hines and Donny Schatz topped more than 120 drivers in 2011 as they became Champions of the Western World’s 44th edition.  Hines picked up $5000 by winning the Non Wing portion and joined Donny Schatz as he etched his name onto the winners list for the third time by winning the ASCS National Western World Championship.

As we approach the fall and most of the country succumbs to the cold and snow, racing action will again heat up with the much anticipated 45th running of the FVP Western World Championships presented by Sand Chevrolet.  Close to one hundred and twenty top Sprint Car teams from around the country are expected to migrate to warmer climates for their final chance at a big payday and another opportunity to add their name to prestigious list of winners.

Both the winged and wingless forces will tackle Canyon Speedway’s 1/3-mile clay oval for three nights on November 15th, 16th and 17th, with more than $100,000 in “A” Feature money alone distributed over the course of the blockbuster event. A $10,000 share awaits the winner of the Lucas Oil ASCS Western World Champion, while the ASCS Canyon Region conqueror will pocket $5,000.

Entry forms for the 45th Annual Western World Championships are available at  Entries received by October 31 are just $100, with entries received after that date $150.

Three-day tickets can be purchased for just $60, with VIP Suite tickets for all three days available for $90 and All Access Passes for $105.  Single day tickets are $20 for both Thursday and Friday and then $25 for the November 17 Western World Championships finale.

Detailed Western World Championships ticket information and pricing is available at

Tickets may be ordered by calling the track at 602-258-RACE (7223).

To keep up on all the latest news and happenings, sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page.

The entire 2012 Canyon Schedule can be previewed online at

Hotel Information can be found at or by calling the Hampton Inn & Suites at 623-516-9300.

Canyon Speedway Park is located in north Peoria, AZ, off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles west on Carefree Highway.  For more information, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or check online at

Fargo North Dakota’s Donny Schatz earned back to back Western World titles by topping the 2011 edition of the event last November marking his third triumph while Indiana’s, Tracy Hines garnered is first Western World title by winning the wingless portion of the event.
Steve Kinser has claimed the most Western World titles with seven triumphs including wingless wins in 1982 and 1983 followed by winged wins in 1985, 1987, 1990, 1992 and 1996.

Ron Shuman is next on the list with five Western World triumphs, all of the wingless variety, with other drivers posting multiple Western World wins including Donnie Schatz (3), Lealand McSpadden (3), Sammy Swindell (3), Brady Bacon (2), Bud Kaeding (2), Mark Kinser (2) and Jan Opperman (2).

Past Western World Championship Winners (Wing / Non-Wing)


2011 – Donny Schatz(w)

Tracy Hines (nw)

2010 – Donny Schatz(w)

Brady Bacon (nw)
2009 – Sammy Swindell(w)

Brady Bacon (nw)

2008 – Kevin Swindell (nw)
2007 – Jerry Coons, Jr. (nw)
2006 – Josh Wise (nw)
2005 – Dave Darland (nw)
2004 – Bud Kaeding (nw)
2003 – Tony Elliott (nw)
2002 – Bud Kaeding (nw)
2001 – Jeremy Sherman (nw)
2000 – Jay Drake (nw)
1999 – Donny Schatz (w)
1998 – Tyler Walker (w)
1997 – Mark Kinser (w)
1996 – Steve Kinser (w)
1995 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1994 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1993 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1992 – Steve Kinser (w)
1991 – Danny Lasoski (w)
1990 – Steve Kinser (w)
1989 – Sammy Swindell (w)
1988 – Mark Kinser (w)
1987 – Steve Kinser (w)
1986 – Bobby Davis, Jr. (w)
1985 – Steve Kinser (w)
1984 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1983 – Steve Kinser (nw)
1982 – Steve Kinser (nw)
1981 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1980 – Jeff Swindell (nw)
1979 – Tim Green (nw)
1978 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1977 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1976 – Bubby Jones (nw)
1975 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1974 – Rick Ferkel (nw)
1973 – Earl Wagner (nw)
1972 – Jan Opperman (nw)
1971 – Jan Opperman (nw)
1970 – Jerry McClung (nw)
1969 – Bob Huebner (nw)
1968 – Bob Cleberg (nw)


Leave a Reply