RSS Twitter Facebook

Bacon & Clauson Take Western World Opening Wins!

By canyon | 16 November 2012 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (November 15, 2012) – Brady Bacon and Bryan Clauson assumed starring roles as the 45th Annual FVP Western World Championships presented by Sands Chevrolet kicked off atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval on Thursday night.

Bacon raced to the checkered flag in the winged portion of the event featuring the Lucas Oil ASCS National Sprint Car series while Clauson bested the wingless portion of Thursday’s event over the ASCS Canyon Region Sprint Cars.

A two-time Western World champ in the wingless ranks, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma’s Brady Bacon put himself in prime position to capture Saturday night’s $10,000 winged winner’s share by wiring the field in the 25-lap Lucas Oil ASCS National event.

Earning the pole position through heat and qualifying race action, Bacon was flawless the entire distance and earned the pole for Saturday’s finale via the triumph.

“Our car is really good on tracks like this,” the third-ranked driver in National points explained of his Wesmar-powered Fatheadz Eyewear No. 99 Triple-X in victory lane.  “When it’s heavy on the bottom and the others struggle to stay down there, the car rotates really well and we’re able to make it work.”

Bacon outgunned fellow front row starter Kyle Hirst at the outset and opened up a sizable advantage before a caution flew on the eleventh round for Aaron Reutzel’s cut left rear, with fifth-runner Dustin Morgan tangling with a lapped car in turn two and collecting sixth-place Travis Rilat at the same time.

Bacon took off again on the restart and held a straightaway advantage when the red flag flew after 19 laps when seventh-running John Carney II flipped down the backstretch after tangling with another lapped car.

Bacon raced on to a half straightaway advantage over the final half-dozen circuits, with Hirst taking runner-up honors in the Harley Van Dyke No. 5h entry.  Wanyne Johnson battled past Logan Forler in the early rounds and held the show position to the stripe, with 12th-starter Brad Loyet and Forler rounding out the top five.  Henry Van Dam, Donny Schatz and Jayme Barnes rounded out the eight drivers that locked into Saturday night’s winged Sprint Car finale.

In the wingless Sprint Car main event, Noblesville, Indiana’s Clauson wrestled the lead away from Canyon Region points leader Charles Davis, Jr., on the fourth round of the 25-lapper before ultimately taking the checkered flag with a straightaway advantage over Tracy Hines and Davis, Jr.

“Tonight was all about getting in good position for Saturday and it looks like we’re sitting pretty now,” the newly-crowned USAC National Sprint Car champion explained after the triumph aboard the Mike Martin No. 16b.

While Clauson started third, pole starter Davis, Jr., paced the initial three circuits before Clauson slipped underneath in turns three and four to take command for keeps.  Following a quick caution for Josh Shipley in turn four after six laps, Clauson sliced the traffic over the final half of the race to comfortably take the win.

Tracy Hines battled past Davis, Jr., for second on the eighth round but was unable to advance as traffic hindered his pursuit of the leader, with Davis, Jr., settling for the show position.

Front row outside starter Josh Pelkey slipped to fourth in the initial circuits then held the position the rest of the way, with Jon Stanbrough fending off advances from Rick Ziehl and R.J. Johnson over the final circuits to round out the top five.  Ziehl and Johnson rounded out the seven drivers locked into Saturday night’s $5,000-to-win wingless Sprint Car Western World finale.

A pair of contenders had their night cut short with early incidents. ASCS Sooner and Lone Star champion Matt Covington flipped hard in turn two after contact of the opening lap of his winged heat race, while USAC National contender Kevin Thomas, Jr., climbed a right rear in turn four one lap into his wingless qualifying race and went for a wild ride.  Both were done for the night.

Action at the 45th Annual FVP Western World Championships presented by Sands Chevrolet continues on Friday night at 7:00 p.m. with the remaining half of the Lucas Oil ASCS winged Sprint Car ranks and the ASCS Canyon Region wingless aces battling for spots in Saturday’s Western World Championships finale.


45th Annual FVP Western World Championships presented by Sands Chevrolet Thursday Results:

Winged Portion (Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour)

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 99-Brady Bacon[1]; 2. 5H-Kyle Hirst[2]; 3. 77X-Wayne Johnson[5]; 4. 05-Brad Loyet[12]; 5. 2L-Logan Forler[3]; 6. 33V-Henry VanDam[10]; 7. 15C-Donny Schatz[8]; 8. 17J-Jayme Barnes[13]; 9. 1X-Aaron Reutzel[6]; 10. 3-J.J. Hickle[14]; 11. 41W-Joshua Williams[17]; 12. 77-Dalten Gabbard[16]; DNF 224-John Carney II[9]; DNF 22-Jesse Baker[15]; DNF 2-Dustin Morgan[4]; DNF 39C-Travis Rilat[7]; DNF 53-Jack Dover[11]; DNF 11c-Matt Covington [18]; DNS 4-Gary Taylor

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 15C-Donny Schatz[1]; 2. 99-Brady Bacon[6]; 3. 3-J.J. Hickle[2]; DNF 17J-Jayme Barnes[4]; DNF 11C-Matt Covington[3]; DNF 41W-Joshua Williams[5]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 1X-Aaron Reutzel[2]; 2. 5H-Kyle Hirst[3]; 3. 39C-Travis Rilat[7]; 4. 224-John Carney II[5]; 5. 53-Jack Dover[6]; 6. 77-Dalten Gabbard[4]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 77X-Wayne Johnson[1]; 2. 2L-Logan Forler[3]; 3. 22-Jesse Baker[2]; 4. 2-Dustin Morgan[6]; 5. 05-Brad Loyet[4]; 6. 33V-Henry VanDam[5]

Qualifier #1 (8 Laps): 1. 2-Dustin Morgan[1]; 2. 99-Brady Bacon[4]; 3. 39C-Travis Rilat[2]; 4. 15C-Donny Schatz[3]; 5. 33V-Henry VanDam[9]; 6. 53-Jack Dover[7]; 7. 17J-Jayme Barnes[6]; 8. 3-J.J. Hickle[5]

Qualifier #2 (8 Laps): 1. 5H-Kyle Hirst[1]; 2. 2L-Logan Forler[2]; 3. 77X-Wayne Johnson[3]; 4. 1X-Aaron Reutzel[4]; 5. 224-John Carney II[6]; 6. 05-Brad Loyet[7]; 7. 77-Dalten Gabbard[9]; 8. 22-Jesse Baker[5]; 9. 41W-Joshua Williams[8]


Non-Wing Portion (ASCS Canyon Region)

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 16B-Bryan Clauson[3]; 2. 6H-Tracy Hines[4]; 3. 50-Charles Davis Jr[1]; 4. 12-Josh Pelkey[2]; 5. 21-Jon Stanbrough[5]; 6. 41W-Rick Ziehl[8]; 7. 51-R.J. Johnson[15]; 8. 8-Bob Ream Jr[7]; 9. 2R-Matt Rossi[16]; 10. 74X-Joshua Hodges[11]; 11. 48-Thomas Ogle[12]; 12. 78-Chris Bonneau[10]; 13. 19-Andrew Reinbold[6]; 14. 19R-Ronnie Smith[17]; 15. 2-Josh Shipley[9]; 16. 32B-Brian Hosford[13]; 17. 94-James Aragon[21]; DNF 74-Colby Copeland[19]; DNF 3-Jake Simmons[22]; DNF 9-Johnny Shelton Jr[18]; DNF 2AZ-Shane Cockrum[20]; DNS 21P-Kevin Thomas Jr

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 78-Chris Bonneau[1]; 2. 12-Josh Pelkey[4]; 3. 21-Jon Stanbrough[6]; 4. 8-Bob Ream Jr[3]; 5. 94-James Aragon[2]; 6. 19R-Ronnie Smith[7]; DNF 74-Colby Copeland[8]; DNS 3-Jake Simmons

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 19-Andrew Reinbold[2]; 2. 50-Charles Davis Jr[6]; 3. 41W-Rick Ziehl[1]; 4. 6H-Tracy Hines[8]; 5. 2R-Matt Rossi[4]; 6. 2AZ-Shane Cockrum[3]; 7. 51-R.J. Johnson[5]; DNS 7K-Bruce St. James

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 16B-Bryan Clauson[1]; 2. 21P-Kevin Thomas Jr[4]; 3. 48-Thomas Ogle[3]; 4. 2-Josh Shipley[6]; 5. 74X-Joshua Hodges[5]; 6. 9-Johnny Shelton Jr[2]; 7. 32B-Brian Hosford[7]

Qualifier #1 (8 Laps): 1. 16B-Bryan Clauson[2]; 2. 50-Charles Davis Jr[4]; 3. 74X-Joshua Hodges[5]; 4. 48-Thomas Ogle[1]; 5. 19R-Ronnie Smith[6]; 6. 9-Johnny Shelton Jr[7]; DNF 21P-Kevin Thomas Jr[3]; DNS 3-Jake Simmons

Qualifier #2 (8 Laps): 1. 6H-Tracy Hines[2]; 2. 41W-Rick Ziehl[1]; 3. 21-Jon Stanbrough[3]; 4. 19-Andrew Reinbold[4]; 5. 2R-Matt Rossi[5]; 6. 74-Colby Copeland[6]; 7. 32B-Brian Hosford[7]

Qualifier #3 (8 Laps): 1. 8-Bob Ream Jr[1]; 2. 12-Josh Pelkey[4]; 3. 2-Josh Shipley[2]; 4. 51-R.J. Johnson[7]; 5. 78-Chris Bonneau[3]; 6. 2AZ-Shane Cockrum[6]; 7. 94-James Aragon[5]

Leave a Reply