RSS Twitter Facebook

Donny Schatz Set To Defend Western World Title!

By canyon | 08 November 2012 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

Kevin Montgomery, PEORIA, Ariz. (November 7, 2012) – Current and Five-time World Of Outlaw Champion, Donny Schatz, will head west to Canyon Speedway Park next week looking for his fourth FVP Western World Championships presented by Sands Chevrolet title and his first ever win at the Peoria, Arizona facility.

Schatz, who was crowned Western World Champion in 1999, was victorious in the final Winged Western World a-top the famed Manzanita half mile and now is in search of his fourth title as the prestigious event returns to the Valley of the Sun.  Piloting the Richard and Lana Saumure/Carlan Services Ltd./J&J Chassis/Shark powered 15c, Schatz will team with Travis Rilat for a double shot of Western World glory.

Schatz earned his first World of Outlaw title in 2007 and has earned four more titles since.  He is only the second driver in history to win 4 consecutive Outlaw Championships earning five in the last six years.

The 45th Annual Western World Championships will include the best of both Sprint Car worlds with a $10,000 winner’s share up for grabs in the winged Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour Sprint Car ranks and $5,000 going to the non-wing ASCS Canyon Region victor.
Tickets are now available as the storied Western World Championships shifts back to the Phoenix area this November.  After several years in Tucson, the 45th rendition of the Western World Championships will take place at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, AZ, on November 15-17.

Three-day advanced tickets may be purchased for only $60 with single day tickets only $20 for both Thursday and Friday and then $25 for the November 17 Western World Championships finale.

Detailed Western World Championships ticket information and pricing is available at

Tickets may be ordered by calling the track at 602-258-RACE (7223).

Entry forms for the 45th Annual Western World Championships are available at  Entries received by October 31 are just $100, with entries received after that date $150.

Tracy Hines and Donny Schatz topped more than 120 drivers in 2011 as they became Champions of the Western World’s 44th edition.  Hines picked up $5000 by winning the Non Wing portion and joined Donny Schatz as he etched his name onto the winners list for the third time by winning the ASCS National Western World Championship.

Hotel Information can be found at or by calling the Hampton Inn & Suites at 623-516-9300.

Canyon Speedway Park is located in north Peoria, AZ, off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles west on Carefree Highway.  For more information, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or check online at

Fargo North Dakota’s Donny Schatz earned back to back Western World titles by topping the 2011 edition of the event last November marking his third triumph while Indiana’s, Tracy Hines garnered is first Western World title by winning the wingless portion of the event.

Steve Kinser has claimed the most Western World titles with seven triumphs including wingless wins in 1982 and 1983 followed by winged wins in 1985, 1987, 1990, 1992 and 1996.

Ron Shuman is next on the list with five Western World triumphs, all of the wingless variety, with other drivers posting multiple Western World wins including Donnie Schatz (3), Lealand McSpadden (3), Sammy Swindell (3), Brady Bacon (2), Bud Kaeding (2), Mark Kinser (2) and Jan Opperman (2).

Past Western World Championship Winners (Wing / Non-Wing)


2011 – Donny Schatz(w)

Tracy Hines (nw)

2010 – Donny Schatz(w)

Brady Bacon (nw)
2009 – Sammy Swindell(w)

Brady Bacon (nw)

2008 – Kevin Swindell (nw)
2007 – Jerry Coons, Jr. (nw)
2006 – Josh Wise (nw)
2005 – Dave Darland (nw)
2004 – Bud Kaeding (nw)
2003 – Tony Elliott (nw)
2002 – Bud Kaeding (nw)
2001 – Jeremy Sherman (nw)
2000 – Jay Drake (nw)
1999 – Donny Schatz (w)
1998 – Tyler Walker (w)
1997 – Mark Kinser (w)
1996 – Steve Kinser (w)
1995 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1994 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1993 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1992 – Steve Kinser (w)
1991 – Danny Lasoski (w)
1990 – Steve Kinser (w)
1989 – Sammy Swindell (w)
1988 – Mark Kinser (w)
1987 – Steve Kinser (w)
1986 – Bobby Davis, Jr. (w)
1985 – Steve Kinser (w)
1984 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1983 – Steve Kinser (nw)
1982 – Steve Kinser (nw)
1981 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1980 – Jeff Swindell (nw)
1979 – Tim Green (nw)
1978 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1977 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1976 – Bubby Jones (nw)
1975 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1974 – Rick Ferkel (nw)
1973 – Earl Wagner (nw)
1972 – Jan Opperman (nw)
1971 – Jan Opperman (nw)
1970 – Jerry McClung (nw)
1969 – Bob Huebner (nw)
1968 – Bob Cleberg (nw)



Leave a Reply