RSS Twitter Facebook

Johnson Completes Salute to Indy Sweep!

By canyon | 27 May 2013 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

RJ Johnson American FlagLonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (May 26, 2013) – R.J. Johnson just keeps rolling along, as he completed a sweep of Canyon Speedway Park’s Second Annual Salute to Indy by winning Sunday night’s USAC Southwest Sprint Car main event atop the 1/3-mile clay oval.

While Johnson completed the weekend sweep aboard the Michaels’ No. 77m Kodiak Products Sherman-chassis after wiring the field in Saturday night’s feature, Matt Lundy took top honors in LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car action with Colton Hardy victorious in Micro Sprints and John Priest best in AMA Mod Lite competition.

After earning the pole position for the feature by winning the Dash, Johnson raced on to his fourth consecutive USAC Southwest Sprint Car score atop CSP clay and fifth series score of the season in front of Stevie Sussex, who rallied from 13th.

Johnson and Sussex were followed at the stripe by Shon Deskins, with 11th-starter Mike Martin and Joshua Hodges rounding out the top five.

Matt Lundy raced from the fourth row outside for his second LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car score of the year in front of fifth row starters Jacob Hawkins and Josh Shipley, with 14th-starter Johnny Shelton, Jr., and Mike Visser rounding out the top five.

Colton Hardy charged from the tenth starting position to snare his first Micro Sprint feature win of the year at CSP ahead of Tyler Ybarra and Jacob Hawkins, with John Priest picking off his third AMA Mod Lites win of the season from the front row ahead of Chaz Baca, Jr., and Josh Rivera.

Action continues at Canyon Speedway Park on Saturday night, June 15, with the Third Annual Father’s Day Classic featuring the winged Sprint Cars of the ASCS Southwest Region along with IMCA Modifieds, LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Micro Sprints, Dwarf Cars and Renegades.

Canyon Speedway Park

Second Annual Salute to Indy Sunday Results:

USAC Southwest Sprint Cars:

Racers Advantage Heat Race One: 1. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 2. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 3. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 4. 78-Chris Bonneau, 5. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 6. 6-Ronnie Clark, 7. 5-Ty Mihocko, 8. 32b-Brian Hosford, 9. 74-Billy Chester.

Racers Advantage Heat Race Two: 1. 20-Shon Deskins, 2. 12-Josh Pelkey, 3. 16-Mike Martin, 4. 29-Mike Bonneau, 5. 68-Bryan Swinehart, 6. 93-Justin Quinn, 7. 28-Mike Morin, 8. 60-Steve Harms.

Racers Advantage Heat Race Three: 1. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 2. 7k-Bruce St. James, 3. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 4. 57x-Stevie Sussex, 5. 94-James Aragon, 6. 45-Jason Grady, 7. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 8. 11c-Michael Curtis.

Passing Masters Dash:  1. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 2. 29-Mike Bonneau, 3. 20-Shon Deskins, 4. 7k-Bruce St. James, 5. 74x-Josh Hodges, 6. 12-Josh Pelkey, 7. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 8. 20z-Rick Ziehl.

Hose Advantage “A” Feature: 1. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 2. 57x-Stevie Sussex, 3. 20-Shon Deskins, 4. 16-Mike Martin, 5. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 6. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 7. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 8. 12-Josh Pelkey, 9. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 10. 45-Jason Grady, 11. 78-Chris Bonneau, 12. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 13. 93-Justin Quinn, 14. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 15. 6-Ronnie Clark, 16. 68-Bryan Swinehart, 17. 5-Ty Mihocko, 18. 32b-Brian Hosford, 19. 11c-Michael Curtis, 20. 94-James Aragon, 21. 7k-Bruce St. James, 22. 28-Mike Morin, 23. 29-Mike Bonneau.


LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars:

First Heat: 1. 16-Mike Visser, 2. 2-Josh Shipley, 3. 71-Crash Vegas, 4. 74-Jacob Hawkins, 5. 53-Tom Lee, 6. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 7. 0-Tanner Grau, 8. 5g-Gene Gile.

Second Heat: 1. 98-Matt Lundy, 2. 29-Dean Colquette, 3. 11az-Jesse Turner, 4. 2x-Larry Gibson, 5. 0h-Brian Hatlestad, 6. 35-Steve Wagner, 7. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr.

“A” Feature: 1. 98-Matt Lundy, 2. 74-Jacob Hawkins, 3. 2-Josh Shipley, 4. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 5. 16-Mike Visser, 6. 29-Dean Colquette, 7. 11az-Jesse Turner, 8. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 9. 2x-Larry Gibson, 10. 53-Tom Lee, 11. 0-Tanner Grau, 12. 5g-Gene Gile, 13. 0h-Brian Hatlestad, 14. 35-Steve Wagner, 15. 71-Crash Vegas.


Micro Sprints:

First Heat: 1. 4-Ryan Walter, 2. 3-Marty Morin, 3. 41-Colton Hardy, 4. 6-Dave Van Ess, 5. 77-Aaron Miller, 6. 81-Tyler Dean, 7. 97-Bryan Dawson, 8. 55-Greg Pritts, 9. 21r-Johnathon Patrick.

Second Heat: 1. 21b-Brandon Hacker, 2. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 3. Mr07-Patrick Hurtado, 4. 53-Joe Pitts, 5. 14-Dustin Cormany, 6. 31-Tyler Ybarra, 7. 50-Cliff Cormany, 8. 7-Jarrett Martin, 9. 6az-Gary Winter.

Trophy Dash: 1. 21b-Brandon Hacker, 2. 14-Dustin Cormany, 3. 6-Dave Van Ess, 4. 3-Marty Morin.

“A” Feature: 1. 41-Colton Hardy, 2. 31-Tyler Ybarra, 3. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 4. 6-Dave Van Ess, 5. 4-Ryan Walter, 6. 53-Joe Pitts, 7. Mr07-Patrick Hurtado, 8. 7-Jarrett Martin, 9. 21r-Johnathon Patrick, 10. 14-Dustin Cormany, 11. 50-Cliff Cormany, 12. 77-Aaron Miller, 13. 81-Tyler Dean, 14. 3-Marty Morin, 15. 97-Bryan Dawson, 16. 6az-Gary Winter, 17. 55-Greg Pritts, 18. 21b-Brandon Hacker.


AMA Mod Lites:

First Heat: 1. 52-Brenden Priedt, 2. 75-Chaz Baca, Jr., 3. 15-Ken Young, 4. B4-Doug Borders, 5. 55-Nick Gann, 6. 99-Adam Etcher, 7. 57-Kyler Repella.

Second Heat: 1. X-John Priest, 2. 14-Josh Rivera, 3. 21-Jimmy Terstriep, 4. 26-Cody Taylor, 5. 30-Lexus Gann, 6. 19-Bryan Dervage, 7. 24-Mike Martin.

Trophy Dash: 1. 55-Nick Gann, 2. 57-Kyler Repella, 3. 24-Mike Martin, 4. 21-Jimmy Terstriep, 5. 99-Adam Etcher, 6. 19-Bryan Dervage.

“A” Feature: 1. X-John Priest, 2. 75-Chaz Baca, Jr., 3. 14-Josh Rivera, 4. 15-Ken Young, 5. 55-Nick Gann, 6. 24-Mike Martin, 7. 26-Cody Taylor, 8. B4-Doug Borders, 9. 21-Jimmy Terstriep, 10. 30-Lexus Gann, 11. 19-Bryan Dervage, 12. 52-Brenden Priedt, 13. 57-Kyler Repella, 14. 99-Adam Etcher.

Leave a Reply