RSS Twitter Facebook

Thornton, Lundy & More Top Race for the Cure at CSP!

By canyon | 12 May 2013 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

MothersDayBanner 650x150Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (May 11, 2013) – Ricky Thornton, Jr., and Matt Lundy headlined Saturday night’s Third Annual Mother’s Day Race for the Cure event atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval near Phoenix as more than 120 cars filled the pit area.

While Thornton, Jr., topped the IMCA Modifieds and Lundy bested the CSP LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars again, other winners included Anthony Madrid in Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks, John Romero in Renegades and Brian Stehr in Dwarf Cars.

Thornton, Jr., raced from the ninth starting position for his first CSP feature triumph of the year in IMCA Modified action, taking the checkered flag ahead of 11th-starter Tyler Mecl with Jay Foster, Guy Norton and Mark Stewart rounding out the top five.

Lundy put a stop to Josh Shipley’s domination of the LoanMart CSP Challenge Cup Sprint Car ranks by taking the win from the pole with Jacob Hawkins in the runner-up slot.  Shipley settled for third from the tenth starting position after winning the three previous events, with Ty Mihocko and 16th-starter Jesse Turner rounding out the top five.

Another win streak was snapped in the Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks as Bo Partain’s bid for a fifth consecutive triumph fell three spots shy with pole starter Anthony Madrid snaring the top spot in front of 13th-starter Danny Price, Matt Martinez, Partain and Ty Weidner.

John Romero raced from the seventh starting position to capture his second consecutive Renegade feature win ahead of Trenton Setelin, with Joe Peterson, Paul O’Connor and Chuck McKay filling out the top five.

In the initial Dwarf Car event of the year at CSP, Brian Stehr raced from 10th to take the checkered flag ahead of 12th-starter Taylor Cuzick, Tim Cotherman, Eric Muse and Greg Jewett.

Next up at Canyon Speedway Park is the Second Annual Salute to Indy May 25-26 featuring the USAC Southwest Sprint Cars along with the LoanMart Challenge Cup CSP Sprint Cars, Micro Sprints and AMA Modlites.


Canyon Speedway Park

Third Annual Mother’s Day Race for the Cure Feature Results:

IMCA Modifieds:

 “A” Feature: 1. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 2. 71-Tyler Mecl, 3. 19-Jay Foster, 4. 12-Guy Norton, 5. 59-Mark Stewart, 6. 33d-Chad Ayers, 7. 43-Cody Graham, 8. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 9. 78-Steve Stultz, 10. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 11. 82-J.C. Parmeley, 12. 51-Ronald Webster, 13. 5az-James Webster, 14. 44-Jason Noll, 15. 87-Clifton Maggard, 16. 8-Nate Warren, 17. 77b-Terry Belcher, Sr., 18. 3-Jim Collinsworth, 19. 33jr-Paul French, Jr., 20. 99-Zach Washburn, 21. 39-Derek Huggins, 22. 48jc-Josh Center.

LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars:

“A” Feature: 1. 98-Matt Lundy, 2. 74-Jacob Hawkins, 3. 2-Josh Shipley, 4. 5-Ty Mihocko, 5. 11az-Jesse Turner, 6. 2x-Larry Gibson, 7. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 8. 16-Mike Visser, 9. 71-Crash Vegas, 10. 5g-Gene Gile, 11. 27-Scott Mortenson, 12. 0h-Brian Hatlestad, 13. 8-Tim Beal, 14. 29-Dean Colquette, 15. 0-Tanner Grau, 16. 35-Steve Wagner, 17. 53-Tom Lee.

Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks:

 “A” Feature: 1. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 2. 18-Danny Price, 3. 21m-Matt Martinez, 4. 75c-Bo Partain, 5. Z28-Ty Weidner, 6. 7-Steve Bitting, 7. 21r-Ryan Eaden, 8. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 9. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 10. XX-Chuck Thornton, 11. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 12. 00-Lonnie Foss, 13. 84-Mike Goodwin, 14. 64x-Vance Honea, 15. 04b-Justin Bishop, 16. 22x-Michael Huffman, 17. 40sr-Jeff Stafford, 18. 2-Justin Thornton, 19. 44s-Steve Shumaker, 20. 42-Patrick Shumaker.


“A” Feature: 1. 65-John Romero, 2. 99-Trenton Setelin, 3. 85-Joe Peterson, 4. 9-Paul O’Connor, 5. 6-Chuck McKay, 6. 16b-Richard Bennett, 7. 66-Joe Setelin, 8. 23jr-Brandy McCurdy, 9. 75-David Irwin, 10. 15-Kyle Williams, 11. 57a-Tate Allen, 12. 88-Glen Matkovich, 13. 08-Michelle Halfhill, 14. 13-Robert McClellan, 15. 64s-Johnathan Stahlhut, 16. 7p-Kelly Parker, 17. 04b-Michael Humphreys, 18. 28-John Walls.

Dwarf Cars:

 “A” Feature: 1. 17-Brian Stehr, 2. 16b-Taylor Cuzick, 3. 43-Tim Cotherman, 4. 77-Eric Muse, 5. 33r-Greg Jewett, 6. 31-Greg Loper, 7. 69-Eddie O’Neil, 8. 14-Ryan Hennesey, 9. 16-Jim Hock, 10. 12-Pat Hennesey, 11. 22-Daniel Lamm, 12. 81-Jeff Ekery, 13. 10-Helen Hennesey, 14. 4-Ryan Irish, 15. 72-Justin Murphy, 16. 32-Rick Godsey, 17. 53-David Siress, 18. 93-A.J. Breau, 19. 76-Chad Stewart, 20. 11-Heather Hennesey, 21. 24-Richard Kemp, 22. 02-Jason Stacey, 23. 47-Steve Kapaun, 24. 7n-Matt Lund.

Leave a Reply