RSS Twitter Facebook

Charles Davis, Jr., Sizzles at CSP!

By canyon | 30 June 2013 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

cdjwincsp062913 700Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (June 29, 2013) – Charles Davis, Jr., brought a dramatic halt to R.J. Johnson’s hot hand at Canyon Speedway Park by rallying for a last lap win in Saturday night’s Third Annual Summer Sizzle feature event for the USAC Southwest Sprint Cars atop the 1/3-mile clay oval.

While Davis, Jr., snapped Johnson’s win streak, other Summer Sizzle winners included Josh Shipley in LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Jacob Hawkins in Micro Sprints, Anthony Madrid in Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks and Chaz Baca, Jr., in AMA Mod Lites.

While Davis, Jr., started alongside current USAC Southwest points leader Johnson in the main event, he slipped back to seventh in the early going only to rally back and ultimately win with a move around the top side of the track on the final lap.

With Davis, Jr., taking the checkered flag, Johnson settled for runner-up honors rather than a fifth consecutive series score atop the CSP clay.  Josh Pelkey claimed the show position, with Mike Martin and 14th-starter Bruce St. James rounding out the top five.

Josh Shipley added his fifth LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car feature win of the year by racing from tenth to take the checkered flag ahead of Matt Lundy and Larry Gibson.

The Micro Sprints added a first-time 2013 winner at CSP with Jacob Hawkins taking full advantage of the pole starting position by taking the win, with Joe Scheopne’s bid for a second consecutive win falling one position short.   Colton Hardy raced from tenth to claim third, with Dustin Cormany and Kenny Hill filling out the top five.

Anthony Madrid picked off his second consecutive Viper Smart Start Pure Stock feature win by racing from fifth to cross the stripe ahead of pole starter Justin Thornton, with tenth-starter Chris McCurdy, Jr., Matt Martinez and Ty Weidner in the top five.

In AMA Mod Lite action, Chaz Baca, Jr., snared his second CSP win of the season from four rows deep with Nick Gann, Brenden Priedt, Mike Martin and Lexus Gann next across the line.

Action continues at Canyon Speedway Park on Saturday night, July 13, with Military Appreciation Night featuring a full card of action including IMCA Modifieds, LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Micro Sprints, Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks, Dwarf Cars and Renegades.

Canyon Speedway Park

Third Annual Summer Sizzle Results:

USAC Southwest Sprint Cars:

Racers Advantage Heat Race One: 1. 5-Ty Mihocko, 2. 1a-Nathan High, 3. 78-Chris Bonneau, 4. 5x-Jody Wirth, 5. 53-Tom Lee, 6. 17-Michael Colegrove, 7. 94-James Aragon, 8. 28-Mike Morin.

Racers Advantage Heat Race Two: 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 16-Mike Martin, 3. 74-Colby Copeland, 4. 20-Shon Deskins, 5. 60-Steve Harms, 6. 11c-Michael Curtis, 7. 4-Jonas Reynolds.

Racers Advantage Heat Race Three: 1. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 2. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 3. 12-Josh Pelkey, 4. 6-Ronnie Clark, 5. 7k-Bruce St. James, 6. 68-Bryan Swinehart, 7. 32b-Brian Hosford.

Passing Masters Dash:  1. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 2. 16-Mike Martin, 3. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 4. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 5. 12-Josh Pelkey, 6. 74-Colby Copeland, 7. 5-Ty Mihocko, 8. 78-Chris Bonneau.

Hose Advantage “A” Feature: 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 3. 12-Josh Pelkey, 4. 16-Mike Martin, 5. 7k-Bruce St. James, 6. 74-Colby Copeland, 7. 78-Chris Bonneau, 8. 32b-Brian Hosford, 9. 68-Bryan Swinehart, 10. 5x-Jody Wirth, 11. 20-Shon Deskins, 12. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 13. 6-Ronnie Clark, 14. 60-Steve Harms, 15. 11c-Michael Curtis, 16. 53-Tom Lee, 17. 5-Ty Mihocko, 18. 1a-Nathan High, 19. 94-James Aragon, 20. 28-Mike Morin, 21. 4-Jonas Reynolds, 22. 17-Michael Colegrove.


LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars:

First Heat: 1. 98-Matt Lundy, 2. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 3. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 4. 5g-Gene Gile, 5. 35-Steve Wagner.

Second Heat: 1. 74-Jacob Hawkins, 2. 2-Josh Shipley, 3. 2x-Larry Gibson, 4. 11az-Jesse Turner, 5. 0-Tanner Grau.

“A” Feature: 1. 2-Josh Shipley, 2. 98-Matt Lundy, 3. 2x-Larry Gibson, 4. 11az-Jesse Turner, 5. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 6. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 7. 0-Tanner Grau, 8. 35-Steve Wagner, 9. 5g-Gene Gile, 10. 74-Jacob Hawkins.


Micro Sprints:

 First Heat: 1. 17-Joe Scheopner, 2. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 3. 7-Kevin Keefer, 4. 29-Paul Martin, 5. 4-Ryan Walter, 6. 97-Bryan Dawson, 7. 71T-David Tardiff, 8. 55-Greg Pritts.

Second Heat: 1. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 2. 50-Cliff Cormany, 3. 37J-Dustin Cormany, 4. 71-Cody Batten, 5. 41-Colton Hardy, 6. 42-Kenny Hill, 7. 16-G.J. Bunch, 8. 77-Aaron Miller.

“A” Feature: 1. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 2. 17-Joe Scheopner, 3. 41-Colton Hardy, 4. 37j-Dustin Cormany, 5. 42-Kenny Hill, 6. 71-Cody Batten, 7. 55-Greg Pritts, 8. 29-Paul Martin, 9. 4-Ryan Walter, 10. 16-G.J. Bunch, 11. 71T-David Tardiff, 12. 7-Kevin Keefer, 13. 50-Cliff Cormany, 14. 97-Bryan Dawson, 15. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 16. 77-Aaron Miller.



Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks:

First Heat: 1. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 2. 2-Justin Thornton, 3. 21r-Ryan Eaden, 4. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 5. 92p-John Parmaley, 6. 9-Jeff Carter, 7. 07-Terry Hill, 8. 90-Lee Morrell, 9. 97-Stephen Lumpkin.


Second Heat: 1. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 2. 22x-Michael Huffman, 3. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 4. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 5. 75c-Bo Partain, 6. 13-Jason Crowe, 7. 44s-Steve Shumaker, 8. 29p-Johnathan Parker.


Third Heat: 1. 21m-Matt Martinez, 2. Z28-Ty Weidner, 3. 7-Steve Bitting, 4. 84-Mike Goodwin, 5. 28-Mike Herrera, 6. 13m-Johnny Madrid, 7. 42-Patrick Shumaker, 8. 17L-Nick Langer.


“B” Feature: 1. 75c-Bo Partain, 2. 44s-Steve Shumaker, 3. 28-Mike Herrera, 4. 13-Jason Crowe, 5. 9-Jeff Carter, 6. 92p-John Parmaley, 7. 90-Lee Morrell, 8. 13m-Johnny Madrid, 9. 07-Terry Hill, 10. 97-Stephen Lumpkin, 11. 17L-Nick Langer, 12. 29p-Johnathan Parker, 13. 42-Patrick Shumaker.


“A” Feature: 1. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 2. 2-Justin Thornton, 3. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 4. 21m-Matt Martinez, 5. Z28-Ty Weidner, 6. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 7. 7-Steve Bitting, 8. 75c-Bo Partain, 9. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 10. 21r-Ryan Eaden, 11. 22x-Michael Huffman, 12. 13-Jason Crowe, 13. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 14. 28-Mike Herrera, 15. 44s-Steve Shumaker, 16. 92p-John Parmaley, 17. 84-Mike Goodwin, 18. 13m-Johnny Madrid, 19. 9-Jeff Carter, 20. 90-Lee Morrell.



AMA Mod Lites:


First Heat: 1. 24-Mike Martin, 2. 52-Brenden Priedt, 3. 17-Steve Moriarity, 4. 57-Kyler Repella, 5. 97-Steve Bender, 6. 26-Bryan Dervage, 7. 96-Hayden Bender.


Second Heat: 1. 75-Chaz Baca, Jr., 2. 55-Nick Gann, 3. 14-Josh Rivera, 4. 30-Lexus Gann, 5. 7-Mike Schmidt, 6. 4-Erin Holmberg, 7. 95-Collin Bender, 8. X-John Priest.


“A” Feature: 1. 75-Chaz Baca, Jr., 2. 55-Nick Gann, 3. 52-Brenden Priedt, 4. 24-Mike Martin, 5. 30-Lexus Gann, 6. 14-Josh Rivera, 7. 17-Steve Moriarity, 8. X-John Priest, 9. 97-Steve Bender, 10. 96-Hayden Bender, 11. 7-Mike Schmidt, 12. 95-Collin Bender, 13. 4-Erin Holmberg, 14. 26-Bryan Dervage, 15. 57-Kyler Repella.


Leave a Reply