RSS Twitter Facebook

Ziehl & Noll Among Father’s Day Classic Winners at CSP!

By canyon | 16 June 2013 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

FathersDayFlyer2012 650x150Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (June 15, 2013) – Rick Ziehl and Jason Noll were among Saturday night’s feature winners at the Third Annual Father’s Day Classic atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval by taking wins in winged ASCS Southwest Sprint Car and IMCA Modified action, respectively.

While Ziehl bested the first appearance of the year for the winged ASCS Southwest Sprint Car forces and Noll topped the IMCA Modified ranks, other winners included Jesse Turner in LoanMart Challenge Cup non-wing Sprint Car action, Joe Scheopne in Micro Sprints, Steve Kapaun in Dwarf Cars and John Romero in the Renegades.

With the ASCS Southwest Region making its first stop of the year at CSP, reigning champion Rick Ziehl of Las Cruces, NM, raced to his second series score of the year from the front row outside in front of eighth-starter R.J. Johnson, with Colby Copeland, Billy Chester III and Bob Ream, Jr., rounding out the top five.

Jason Noll raced from the fourth position for his third IMCA Modified win of the year at CSP by taking the checkered flag ahead of Ricky Thornton, Jr., with Jay Foster, George Fronsman and Anthony Madrid next across the line.

Jesse Turner raced from seventh for his first LoanMart Challenge Cup non-wing Sprint Car feature win of the year ahead of fellow fourth-row starter Matt Lundy while Gene Gile, Johnny Shelton, Jr., and 12th-stater Jacob Hawkins filled out the top five.

Joe Scheopne was also a first time winner at CSP for 2013 by taking the Micro Sprint Car feature win from the front row outside ahead of pole starter Dustin Cormany and Brandon Hacker, while Steve Kapaun bested the Dwarf Car ranks from fifth ahead of 12th-starter Brian Stehr and polesitter Daniel Lamm.

Despite starting scratch in the 16-car Renegade field, John Romero remained undefeated by racing from eight rows deep for his third CSP triumph in as many tries with Paul O’Connor and Richard Bennett next across the line.

Next up at Canyon Speedway Park is the Third Annual Summer Sizzle on Saturday night, June 29, featuring the USAC Southwest non-wing Sprint Cars along with the LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Micro Sprints, Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks and AMA Mod Lites.

Canyon Speedway Park

Third Annual Father’s Day Classic Results:

ASCS Southwest Winged Sprint Cars:

First Heat: 1. 41c-Billy Chester III, 2. 97-Mike Martin, 3. 51-R.J. Johnson, 4. 41w-Joshua Williams, 5. 01-Kaylene Verville, 6. 57-James Aragon, 7. 29s-Darrell Sickles.

Second Heat: 1. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 2. 74-Colby Copeland, 3. 90-Lance Norick, 4. 8a-Bob Ream, Jr., 5. 5a-Michael Curtis, 6. 91-Casey Buckman.

“A” Feature: 1. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 2. 51-R.J. Johnson, 3. 74-Colby Copeland, 4. 41c-Billy Chester III, 5. 8a-Bob Ream, Jr., 6. 90-Lance Norick, 7. 41w-Joshua Williams, 8. 97-Mike Martin, 9. 57-James Aragon, 10. 01-Kaylene Verville, 11. 5a-Michael Curtis, 12. 29s-Darrell Sickles, 13. 91-Casey Buckman.


IMCA Modifieds:

First Heat: 1. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 2. 99-Zach Washburn, 3. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 4. 41-George Fronsman, 5. 19-Jay Foster, 6. 59-Mark Stewart, 7. 87-Clifton Maggard, 8. 48jc-Josh Center, 9. 40jr-Bubba Stafford.

Second Heat: 1. 44-Jason Noll, 2. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 3. 52w-D.J. Wood, 4. 12-Guy Norton, 5. 19sb-Lance Mari, 6. 78-Steve Stultz, 7. 39-Derek Huggins, 8. 8-Nate Warren.

“A” Feature: 1. 44-Jason Noll, 2. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 3. 19-Jay Foster, 4. 41-George Fronsman, 5. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 6. 59-Mark Stewart, 7. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 8. 12-Guy Norton, 9. 52w-D.J. Wood, 10. 78-Steve Stultz, 11. 87-Clifton Maggard, 12. 8-Nate Warren, 13. 99-Zach Washburn, 14. 40jr-Bubba Stafford, 15. 19sb-Lance Mari, 16. 48jc-Josh Center, 17. 39-Derek Huggins.


LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars:

First Heat: 1. 98-Matt Lundy, 2. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 3. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 4. 53-Tom Lee, 5. 5g-Gene Gile, 6. 35-Steve Wagner, 7. 27-Scott Mortenson.

Second Heat: 1. 2-Josh Shipley, 2. 11az-Jesse Turner, 3. 29-Dean Colquette, 4. 2x-Larry Gibson, 5. 0-Tanner Grau, 6. 74-Jacob Hawkins.

“A” Feature: 1. 11az-Jesse Turner, 2. 98-Matt Lundy, 3. 5g-Gene Gile, 4. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 5. 74-Jacob Hawkins, 6. 53-Tom Lee, 7. 27-Scott Mortenson, 8. 11T-Lonnie Oliver, 9. 29-Dean Colquette, 10. 2-Josh Shipley, 11. 0-Tanner Grau, 12. 35-Steve Wagner, 13. 2x-Larry Gibson.


Micro Sprints:

First Heat: 1. F17-Joe Scheopne, 2. 6-Dave Van Ess, 3. 53-Joe Pitts, 4. 50-Cliff Cormany, 5. 7-Kevin Keefer, 6. 16-G.J. Bunch.

Second Heat: 1. 21b-Brandon Hacker, 2. 77-Aaron Miller, 3. 3-Marty Morin, 4. 55-Greg Pritts, 5. 31-Tyler Ybarra, 6. 71T-David Tardiff.

Third Heat: 1. 14-Dustin Cormany, 2. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 3. 41-Colton Hardy, 4. 4-Ryan Walter, 5. 29-Paul Martin, 6. 71-Cody Bathen.

“A” Feature: 1. F17-Joe Scheopne, 2. 14-Dustin Cormany, 3. 21b-Brandon Hacker, 4. 41-Colton Hardy, 5. 6-Dave Van Ess, 6. 32-Jacob Hawkins, 7. 53-Joe Pitts, 8. 71-Cody Bathen, 9. 77-Aaron Miller, 10. 29-Paul Martin, 11. 7-Kevin Keefer, 12. 4-Ryan Walter, 13. 3-Marty Morin, 14. 16-G.J. Bunch, 15. 31-Tyler Ybarra, 16. 71T-David Tardiff, 17. 50-Cliff Cormany, 18. 55-Greg Pritts.


Dwarf Cars:

First Heat: 1. 17-Brian Stehr, 2. 54-Fred Defibaugh, 3. 16-Jim Hock, 4. 32-Rick Godsey, 5. 31-Greg Loper, 6. 30-Derek Hudson, 7. 4-Ryan Irish.

Second Heat: 1. 05-Chad Stewart, 2. 22-Daniel Lamm, 3. 81-Jeff Ekery, 4. 69-Eddie O’Neil, 5. 16b-Taylor Cuzick, 6. 37-Mike Strobel, 7. 24-Richard Kemp.

Third Heat: 1. 14-Ryan Hennesey, 2. 47-Steve Kapaun, 3. 43-Dale Jones, 4. 77-Eric Muse, 5. 29-Cory Brown, 6. 75-Tony Miele, 7. 20-Samantha Zaraguza.

“A” Feature: 1. 47-Steve Kapaun, 2. 17-Brian Stehr, 3. 22-Daniel Lamm, 4. 16-Jim Hock, 5. 43-Dale Jones, 6. 05-Chad Stewart, 7. 14-Ryan Hennesey, 8. 77-Eric Muse, 9. 81-Jeff Ekery, 10. 32-Rick Godsey, 11. 30-Derek Hudson, 12. 29-Cory Brown, 13. 75-Tony Miele, 14. 16b-Taylor Cuzick, 15. 24-Richard Kemp, 16. 4-Ryan Irish, 17. 31-Greg Loper, 18. 54-Fred Defibaugh, 19. 37-Mike Strobel, 20. 20-Samantha Zaraguza, 21. 69-Eddie O’Neil.



First Heat: 1. 75-David Irwin, 2. 9-Paul O’Connor, 3. 66-Joe Setelin, 4. 16b-Richard Bennett, 5. 64s-Johnathan Stahlhut, 6. 57a-Mike Allen, 7. 98-Cole Hoganson, 8. 04b-Tate Allen.

Second Heat: 1. 85-Joe Peterson, 2. 88-Glen Matkovich, 3. 99-Trenton Setelin, 4. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 5. 31-Robert Hegland, 6. 64-Daniel Romero, 7. 15-Kyle Williams, 8. 65-John Romero.

“A” Feature: 1. 65-John Romero, 2. 9-Paul O’Connor, 3. 16b-Richard Bennett, 4. 99-Trenton Setelin, 5. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 6. 66-Joe Setelin, 7. 57a-Mike Allen, 8. 75-David Irwin, 9. 98-Cole Hoganson, 10. 88-Glen Matkovich, 11. 31-Robert Hegland, 12. 85-Joe Peterson, 13. 64-Daniel Romero, 14. 64s-Johnathan Stahlhut, 15. 04b-Tate Allen, 16. 15-Kyle Williams.

Leave a Reply