RSS Twitter Facebook

Davis Snares Summer Slam Honors Again!

By canyon | 28 July 2013 | Featured News | | 0 Comments   

CDJ Win CSP 072713 700Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (July 27, 2013) – Charles Davis, Jr., picked off Summer Slam laurels for the second time in as many tries by winning Saturday night’s Second Annual Summer Slam feature event for the USAC Southwest Sprint Cars atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval.

While “Chargin’ Charles” took top USAC Southwest honors, other Summer Slam winners included Larry Gibson in LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car action, Dustin Cormany in Micro Sprints, Matt Martinez in Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks and Nick Gann in AMA Mod Lites.

Davis, Jr., the reigning Arizona Sprint Car champion, battled past front row outside starter Shon Deskins for the lead on the ninth lap after starting third and led the rest of the way in the 30-lapper to capture his fourth USAC Southwest win of the year and second in a row atop CSP clay.

Davis, Jr., beat Deskins to the line with current series points leader R.J. Johnson in third.  Pole starter Thomas Ogle finished fourth, with Andrew Reinbold rounding out the top five.  Ronnie Clark was sixth, with 17th-starter Bob Ream, Jr. advancing the most positions by charging up to seventh.  Mike Martin, Bruce St. James and Ryan Linder completed the top ten.

After winning four of the initial five Micro Sprint features of the season at CSP, Dustin Cormany added his fifth triumph after missing out on victory lane in the previous events.  Cormany raced from the front row outside to take victory honors ahead of Colton Hardy and Aaron Miller.

In LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car action, Larry Gibson raced from the fifth starting position to capture his first win of the year ahead of Johnny Shelton, Jr., and Matt Lundy.

Gibson was just one of three first-time CSP winners on the night as Matt Martinez in Pure Stocks and Nick Gann in Mod Lites both broke into victory lane for the first time this year.

Martinez climbed from seventh to take Viper Smart Start Pure Stock accolades ahead of tenth-starter Chris McCurdy, Jr., and Joe Vlasity, with Gann racing from the second row outside to win the AMA Mod Lite main ahead of pole starter Travis Mevlenbrock and Mike Martin.

Action resumes at Canyon Speedway Park on Saturday night, August 17, with the Allscapes Back to School Special featuring the winged Sprint Cars of the ASCS Southwest Region along with IMCA Modifieds, Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks, Dwarf Cars and Renegades.

Canyon Speedway Park

Second Annual Summer Slam Results:

USAC Southwest Sprint Cars:

Racers Advantage Heat Race One: 1. 60-Steve Harms, 2. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 3. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 4. 5-Ty Mihocko, 5. 78-Chris Bonneau, 6. 5x-Jody Wirth, 7. 32b-Brian Hosford, 8. 94-James Aragon.

Racers Advantage Heat Race Two: 1. 6-Ronnie Clark, 2. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 3. 7k-Bruce St. James, 4. 53-Tom Lee, 5. 9-Ryan Linder, 6. 28-Mike Morin, 7. 12-Josh Pelkey.

Racers Advantage Heat Race Three: 1. 20-Shon Deskins, 2. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 3. 11c-Michael Curtis, 4. 16-Mike Martin, 5. 29-Mike Bonneau, 6. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 7. 4-Jonas Reynolds.

Passing Masters Dash:  1. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 2. 20-Shon Deskins, 3. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 4. 6-Ronnie Clark, 5. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 6. 60-Steve Harms, 7. 16-Mike Martin, 8. 19-Andrew Reinbold.

Hose Advantage “A” Feature: 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 20-Shon Deskins, 3. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 4. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 5. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 6. 6-Ronnie Clark, 7. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 8. 16-Mike Martin, 9. 7k-Bruce St. James, 10. 9-Ryan Linder, 11. 78-Chris Bonneau, 12. 32b-Brian Hosford, 13. 11c-Michael Curtis, 14. 5x-Jody Wirth, 15. 53-Tom Lee, 16. 94-James Aragon, 17. 29-Mike Bonneau, 18. 5-Ty Mihocko, 19. 4-Jonas Reynolds, 20. 28-Mike Morin, 21. 12-Josh Pelkey, 22. 60-Steve Harms.


LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars:

First Heat: 1. 5-Ty Mihocko, 2. 5x-Dean Colquette, 3. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 4. 2x-Larry Gibson, 5. 35-Steve Wagner, 6. 42-Katherine Aragon.

Second Heat: 1. 98-Matt Lundy, 2. 2-Josh Shipley, 3. 11az-Jesse Turner, 4. 0-Tanner Grau, 5. 5g-Gene Gile.

“A” Feature: 1. 2x-Larry Gibson, 2. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 3. 98-Matt Lundy, 4. 2-Josh Shipley, 5. 0-Tanner Grau, 6. 5g-Gene Gile, 7. 11az-Jesse Turner, 8. 42-Katherine Aragon, 9. 35-Steve Wagner, 10. 5x-Dean Colquette, 11. 5-Ty Mihocko.


Micro Sprints:

First Heat: 1. 6-Dave Van Ess, 2. 3-Marty Morin, 3. 6az-Gary Winter, 4. 77-Aaron Miller, 5. 29-Paul Martin, 6. 57-Kyle Huttinghow, 7. 32-Tyler Dean.

Second Heat: 1. 14-Dustin Cormany, 2. 17-Joe Scheopner, 3. 41-Colton Hardy, 4. 101-Jim Branum, 5. 37j-Dave Ferneau, 6. 16-Kevin Keefer.

“A” Feature: 1. 14-Dustin Cormany, 2. 41-Colton Hardy, 3. 77-Aaron Miller, 4. 6az-Gary Winter, 5. 37j-Dave Ferneau, 6. 101-Jim Branum, 7. 17-Joe Scheopner, 8. 16-Kevin Keefer, 9. 29-Paul Martin, 10. 3-Marty Morin, 11. 6-Dave Van Ess, 12. 57-Kyle Huttinghow, 13. 32-Tyler Dean.


Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks:

First Heat: 1. 21m-Matt Martinez, 2. 21r-Ryan Eaden, 3. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 4. 84-Mike Goodwin, 5. 90-Lee Morrell, 6. 04b-Michael Humphreys, 7. 97-Stephen Lumpkin.

Second Heat: 1. Z28-Ty Weidner, 2. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 3. 7-Steve Bitting, 4. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 5. 28-Mike Herrera, 6. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 7. 92p-John Parmaley.

“A” Feature: 1. 21m-Matt Martinez, 2. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 3. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 4. 7-Steve Bitting, 5. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 6. 21r-Ryan Eaden, 7. 92p-John Parmaley, 8. 04b-Michael Humphreys, 9. Z28-Ty Weidner, 10. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 11. 90-Lee Morrell, 12. 28-Mike Herrera, 13. 84-Mike Goodwin, 14. 97-Stephen Lumpkin.


AMA Mod Lites:

First Heat: 1. 24-Mike Martin, 2. X-John Priest, 3. 52-Travis Mevlenbrock, 4. 99-Adam Etcher, 5. 30-Lexus Gann, 6. 7-Mike Schmidt, 7. 43-Bryan Dervage, 8. 80az-Ryan Sandblom.

Second Heat: 1. 55-Nick Gann, 2. 75-Chaz Baca, Jr., 3. 54-Daniel Leigh, 4. 26-Cody Taylor, 5. 14-Josh Rivera, 6. 57-Kyler Repella, 7. 77x-Austin Kuehl.

“A” Feature: 1. 55-Nick Gann, 3. 52-Travis Mevlenbrock, 3. 24-Mike Martin, 4. 30-Lexus Gann, 5. 26-Cody Taylor, 6. 54-Daniel Leigh, 7. 80az-Ryan Sandblom, 8. 43-Bryan Dervage, 9. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 10. 7-Mike Schmidt, 11. X-John Priest, 12. 75-Chaz Baca, Jr., 13. 99-Adam Etcher, 14. 14-Josh Rivera, 15. 57-Kyler

Leave a Reply